COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

The Journey


Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

New York Times bestselling and award-winning author Wanda E. Brunstetter is one of the founders of the Amish fiction genre. She has written close to 90 books translated in four languages. With over 10 million copies sold, Wanda's stories consistently earn spots on the nation's most prestigious bestseller lists and have received numerous awards. Wanda's ancestors were part of the Anabaptist faith, and her novels are based on personal research intended to accurately portray the Amish way of life. Her books are well-read and trusted by many Amish, who credit her for giving readers a deeper understanding of the people and their customs. When Wanda visits her Amish friends, she finds herself drawn to their peaceful lifestyle, sincerity, and close family ties. Wanda enjoys photography, ventriloquism, gardening, bird-watching, beachcombing, and spending time with her family. She and her husband, Richard, have been blessed with two grown children, six grandchildren, and two great-grandchildren. To learn more about Wanda, visit her website at


I loved this story - the broken hearts, the family interactions, the community, the misunderstandings, the mystery, the drama, and the reliance on God. I experienced a vast array of emotions while I read - joy, frustration, fear, relief, pain - as well as laughing out loud, shedding a few tears, and lots of smiles. I would recommend this novel to anyone who would enjoy inspirational fiction, Amish fiction, or a sweet love story.

-- (01/13/2011)
Wanda has a way of bringing in sorrow and humor together that makes you feel at ease. One minute you feel sorry for Titus on how insecure he is and the next you are laughing when he falls in a pile of manure.

I also love the innocent humor among the characters. I was laughing out loud through quite a few pages causing stares from some people ( guess they never read a good book ). This was a fun and easy read. If you have reservations of starting a Amish read give some a try. I am glad I did.
-- (01/19/2011)

Ms Brunstetter has written extensively about the Amish and her novels are full of color, family, personal hope, disappointment, confusion, and love. People often forget that just because their lifestyle is completely governed by their faith, they still encounter the same challenges and problems everyone must resolve. They are imperfect people as are all of us, they don't always do the wisest thing, they get upset at each other and their children have the same struggles growing up. If anything, the restrictive way of life can sometimes make growing up even more difficult, although those guidelines, while seeming to oppress, are just live very good fences which keep people and other creatures safe.I greatly enjoyed this novel and found their ways of relating to be heart-warming and inspirational. My own family has a very strong faith base, but whether or not that is the case with readers, there are still wonderful scenes in this book to be encountered and genuine people to meet. While it is fiction, it very accurately reflects the way families and individuals resolve their questions, problems, and challenges. And like all of us, Titus learns that he has the capability to make choices that will insure a measure of happiness for him and any future family he may have.This is really an old-fashioned love story and I hope you all will read it soon.

-- (03/15/2011)
As you follow along with the story you will have some very sad, moving moments, and some really laugh out loud times. The trust in the Lord is seen in both families is very inspirational. This is a wonderful story, and I can't wait for the next book in the series.
-- (02/26/2011)
Wanda E. Brunstetter's The Journey is the first book in the new Kentucky Brothers series. We meet Titus Fisher, who desperately needs to start a new life after having his heart broken by Phoebe Stoltzfus, the woman he'd grown up planning to marry. Titus decides to make a change, and an Amish community in Christian County, Kentucky, seems like just the right place to do it. In Christian County Titus becomes intrigued with Suzanne Yoder, who is an unusually talented woman, struggling to fit into the traditional parameters of the Amish life. But what will Titus do when Phoebe shows up unexpectedly, suddenly ready to marry him? Brunstetter smoothly leads us on a life journey with Titus and the many characters we meet in this new series. New and longtime fans of Amish fiction will be eager to continue the travels with book two, The Healing (on sale in September), and book three, The Struggle.-- (03/03/2011)
I thought The Journey was a beautiful story, and having never read another Amish fiction book set in Kentucky, it kept things very interesting. The usual setting is Pennsylvania or Ohio, so that initially made this book unique. We also saw a lot more of the man's perspective as large parts of the book were about Titus' thoughts and feelings.
I also loved the ending. I won't give it away, but I will say it leaves you wanting more, waiting for the next book, but without being upset the author cut off at such a point. Still, I will be reading the next book in the series, The Healing, (and maybe if I am lucky I can do an advance review!)-- (04/05/2011)
The Journey is a wonderful story with beautifully developed characters and a detailed, complex plot. Brunstetter takes us on a journey around the US, with the story happening simultaneously in Pennsylvania, Kentucky, and California.

-- (04/11/2011)

I was so excited to catch up with the Fisher family from my favorite Wanda Brunstetter series, Daughters of Lancaster County. I really enjoyed how Wanda weaved that past series into this new book and how we were able to see how the family has grown. I can't believe how it ended and can't wait to read the next one in the series!

-- (04/06/2011)
Amish fiction is one of my favorite categories of fiction. Wanda Brunstetter is a pro at this type of fiction and keeps churning out book after book that delights readers all over the world, including me. This book was a great read and it was a very easy and inspiration read.

-- (04/21/2011)

The Journey by Wanda E. Brunstetter kicks off a brand new series (called "Kentucky Brothers") that centers on Titus Fisher as he begins a new life in Christian County, Kentucky. Leaving his past, Titus meets two different women---one a potential girlfriend and the other, a painful reminder of a lost love. I was definitely caught up in this series and can't wait to share The Healing with you this fall! -- (05/09/2011)

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Journey (Kentucky Brothers) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by, Inc.
Back to top