SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Light in the Dark
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

* An evocative exploration of the season, beautifully designed.; * Horatio Clare is a multiple award-winning memoirist, nature and travel writer.; * Combines scintillating nature writing with a moving personal narrative, touching on issues of winter depression and Seasonal Affective Disorder.; * For readers of The Outrun by Amy Liptrot and the Seasons series by Melissa Harrison.

About the Author

Horatio Clare was born in 1973 and raised in Wales. He is a former lifeboatman, bartender, journalist, and BBC radio producer.

Reviews

"[Clare] is a fine observer, and the lushness of his prose offers a striking contrast with the stark lineaments of the winter landscape, both physical and spiritual." - Jane Shilling, Evening Standard; "This is a very powerful book indeed .... Supremely well-written ... Clare is a brilliantly inventive prose stylist, and some of his descriptive writing here is so good it makes you stop and smile and immediately read it again." - Roger Cox, The Scotsman; "Vivid, luminous prose" - The Observer; "Magical, moving and deeply atmospheric - this is a hymn to nature, to the north and to the hardest of seasons" - Patrick Barkham; "A treasure of a book, wonderfully attentive in outlook and generous in spirit" - Amy Liptrot; "Enchanting" - Emma Mitchell; "Cosy as a log fire, bracing as a moorland squall ... a potential life-saver for those of us who - like Clare himself - are wont to enter a state of low morale come November ... When the mercury plummets, forget hygge, save on scented candles, and read this instead" - Caroline Sanderson, The Bookseller; "This sensuous evocation of winter darkness is a startlingly honest escape from seasonal depression. Horatio Clare beams through his own despair by exposing the intimacy of family love in the fiercely shafting light of his glittering prose." - John Lister-Kaye; "An enthralling book of beauty and pain, tenderness and imaginative absorption ... [Horatio Clare is a] prose-poet of mesmerising lyricism" - Juliet Nicolson, Spectator; "Thoughtful, careful writing that speaks from the heart ... ideal for curling up with during the darker days, especially if you suffer at all from the winter blues. ... This is a quiet celebration of life" - New Welsh Review; "Lyrical and beautiful" - Kate Blincoe; "A beautifully written book that struck a chord with me on many occasions ... insightful and thought provoking" - Books and Me blog; "The Light in the Dark is a moving and poetic look at this time of year and one book I rejoice in. This is a torch to guide us through the dark winter days until spring's first rays of light warm us" - John Fish, The Last Word Book Review; "Inspiring ... If you're a fan of Matt Haig, I would definitely recommend this too" -- Buttercupreview; "Throughout the book there's a real magical quality to the imagery... I found that I spent some time going back over particular sentences because they were so lovely ... There is much to reflect upon in this winter journal, particularly if you too struggle with darker days" -- Jaffareadstoo; "A beautiful, moving and poignant meditation on the changing of the seasons. It gave me solace as the nights draw in ever faster and left me with a sense of hope for the spring to come. I adored reading this book and I know it will be one I read again in the years to come. I'll definitely be buying copies for friends and I'll be recommending it every chance I get. It's a beautiful book and one I won't forget!" - RatherTooFondofBooks.com; "As we all approach another winter, this book may provide not only solace, but an exemplar for those whose personal shadows are amplified in dark times. The lesson, `Look outwards' is a good one" - Peter Reason, Shiny New Books; "This was such a stunning read, full of wonderful imagery and beautiful writing... Horatio Clare made me realise that there is beauty to be found outside in the depths of winter, if I will seek it out" - Secret Library Book Blog; 5* - "Clare's writing is taut, sparse and charged with emotion" - Half Man Half Book; "It is a book to be read aloud ... There is no end to the irrepressible courage that has made this book possible. It is a triumph over affliction by a great writer and when the light returns and he knows he is coming through, my heart is full and I am cheering" - Sue Brooks, Caught by the River

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Nature » Seasons
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Light in the Dark: A Winter Journal on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top