Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

Listening for Lucca
By

Rating
New or Used: $46.75
New or Used: $46.75

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

At a young age, Suzanne LaFleur fell in love with stories and writes to help children do the same. Suzanne works with children in New York and Boston.

Reviews

Funny, moving and beautifully constructed * Independent on Sunday *
A warm and inspiring tale about friendship and families with real substance and style * Sunday Times *
LaFleur's writing is a delight * Daily Mail *
The best book I have read all year . . . I loved it -- Cathy Cassidy (praise for LOVE, AUBREY)
LaFleur deftly handles the tale's many layers, never allowing readers to get lost. Events and characters are fully developed and are completely believable, without any sense of contrivance. Tender and brave, Siena is a heroine to be admired. * Kirkus Reviews (starred review) *
This insightful, delicate tale .... offers an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family * Publishers Weekly *

At night, 13-year-old Siena has dreams about a house overlooking the ocean, as well as wartime imagery including plane crashes and sinking ships; scarier still, visions of the past are bleeding into Siena's waking life. As a result, Siena has alienated her friends and taken to collecting abandoned objects. Meanwhile, Siena's three-year-old brother, Lucca, hasn't spoken in a year and a half, and her parents move the family from Brooklyn to Maine (into a house that resembles the one from Siena's dreams) in hopes that both children's behavior will return to normal. But the grand old house on Ocean Drive feels haunted, and although Siena makes new friends, her attention is drawn back to her worries and the discovery that her visions and dreams are tied to Sarah, a girl who lived in the house during WWII. Questions of how Sarah is connected to Siena and whether Lucca will speak again swirl throughout this insightful, delicate tale. LaFleur (Eight Keys) offers an enticing blend of history, mystery, and family, perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead's When You Reach Me. Ages 8-12. Agent: Elizabeth Harding, Curtis Brown. (Aug.) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Children's » Fiction » Family » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Listening for Lucca on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top