SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Lone Creek
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Neil McMahon holds a degree in psychology from Stanford and was a Stegner fellow. He has published ten novels, in addition to the bestselling thriller Toys, coauthored with James Patterson. He lives in Missoula, Montana, where his wife directs the annual Montana Festival of the Book.

Reviews

From the moment construction hand Hugh Davoren found the dead horses buried on the Pettyjohn Ranch, he was a man in trouble, on the run from owner Wesley Balcomb, who wants him out of the picture. But Hugh is tough, in the way that all good Western heroes are tough, and he has friends-an old flame to bail him out of jail and a Native American veteran of the Vietnam War-to help him cope with the hit man sent to get him. Multiple mysteries, including the death of a young girl 20 years earlier on the ranch, combine to create a gripping Western thriller that keeps readers turning the pages. McMahon broke into writing with medical thrillers (To the Bone, Blood Double) but has returned to his roots in Montana for his fifth novel. Recommended for most large fiction collections.-Ken St. Andre, Phoenix P.L. Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

McMahon (Revolution No. 9 and three other thrillers starring Dr. Carroll Monks) delivers his finest achievement to date with this beautifully written stand-alone set in contemporary Montana. Hugh Davoren, a former journalist and ex-boxer now doing construction near where he grew up outside Helena, is working on the building of a massive residence on the old Pettyjohn homestead, recently purchased by an East Coast businessman, Wesley Balcomb. Davoren keeps his head low and does his job, until he comes across two thoroughbred horses unceremoniously shotgunned and buried in the site trash dump. Next thing he knows, Davoren's thrown in jail overnight on a trumped-up charge. What kind of shady operation is Balcomb running, and why is he suddenly so determined to ruin Davoren's life? Aided by his co-worker and friend, "Madbird," a hardcase Blackfoot Indian and Vietnam vet, Davoren grapples with a host of antagonists, including Kirk Pettyjohn, old man Pettyjohn's crack-addict son, and an assassin known as John Doe. A natural storyteller, McMahon is sure to appeal to fans of James Crumley and Jim Harrison. (Apr.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

"McMahon is a writer and a half.... his words carry for miles."--New York Times Book Review
"McMahon has now found his true voice with this splendid and suspenseful novel . . . It is the poignant and knowing prose that elevates this novel to literature."--Otto Penzler, New York Sun
"McMahon . . . delivers his finest achievement to date with this beautifully written stand-alone set in contemporary Montana."--Publishers Weekly
McMahon is a writer and a half . his words carry for miles. --New York Times Book Review"
McMahon . . . delivers his finest achievement to date with this beautifully written stand-alone set in contemporary Montana. --Publishers Weekly"
McMahon has now found his true voice with this splendid and suspenseful novel . . . It is the poignant and knowing prose that elevates this novel to literature. --Otto Penzler, New York Sun"
-McMahon has now found his true voice with this splendid and suspenseful novel . . . It is the poignant and knowing prose that elevates this novel to literature.---Otto Penzler, New York Sun
-McMahon is a writer and a half.... his words carry for miles.---New York Times Book Review
-McMahon . . . delivers his finest achievement to date with this beautifully written stand-alone set in contemporary Montana.---Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Lone Creek on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top