Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
Memoirs of the Life of Sir Walter Scott 7 Volume Set (Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies)

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Books » Fiction & Literature » Literary Criticsm » European » English, Irish, Scottish, Welsh

Memoirs of the Life of Sir Walter Scott 7 Volume Set

Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies

By John Gibson Lockhart

Elsewhere $385 $355   Save $30.00
or 4 easy payments of $88.75 with What's this?
Free shipping Australia wide
Ships from UK
Order Now for Christmas with e-Gift
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Multiple copy pack, 3006 pages
Other Information: illustrations
Published In: United Kingdom, 15 November 2012
As son-in-law and literary executor to Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), John Gibson Lockhart (1794-1854) was uniquely placed to produce a definitive biography of the great poet and novelist. First published in 1837-8, shortly after Scott's death, this celebrated seven-volume work is based on personal memories, correspondence, and Scott's own autobiographical sketches. Wide-ranging in his purview, Lockhart is also detailed in his descriptions: the Aberdeen Journal of the day observed that the volumes trace Scott's life and literary efforts with 'the most minute distinctness'. Charting the writing and publication of such classic novels as Waverley (1814) and Ivanhoe (1820), and using Scott's private correspondence, Lockhart reveals much about the writer's agreements and disputes with distinguished men of politics and letters. The final volume includes an appendix listing Scott's publications as well as an index of names.

Table of Contents

Volume 1: Preface; 1. Memoir of the early life of Sir Walter Scott, written by himself; 2. Illustrations of the autobiographical fragment; 3. Illustrations of the autobiography continued; 4. Illustrations of the autobiography continued; 5. Illustrations continued; 6. Illustrations continued; 7. First expedition into Liddesdale; 8. Publication of ballads after Burger; 9. Early married life; 10. The Border Minstrelsy in preparation; 11. Preparation of Volume III of the Minstrelsy; 12. Contributions to the Edinburgh Review. Volume 2: 1. Removal to Ashestiel; 2. Partnership with James Ballantyne; 3. Affair of the Clerkship of Session; 4. Dryden; 5. Edition of Dryden published; 6. Quarrel with Messrs Constable and Hunter; 7. Case of a poetical tailor condemned to death at Edinburgh; 8. Affair of Thomas Scott's Extractorship discussed at the House of Lords; 9. First visit to the Hebrides; 10. Life of Miss Seward; 11. New arrangements concerning the Clerks of Session; 12. The poem of Rokeby begun. Volume 3: 1. The 'flitting' to Abbotsford; 2. Affairs of John Ballantyne and Co.; 3. Insanity of Henry Weber; 4. Voyage to the Shetland Isles, etc.; 5. Diary on board the lighthouse yacht continued; 6. Diary continued; 7. Diary continued; 8. Diary continued; 9. Letters in verse from Zetland and Orkney; 10. Progress of The Lord of the Isles; 11. Battle of Waterloo; 12. Poem of The Field of Waterloo published; Appendix. Volume 4: 1. Publication of Paul's Letters to his Kinsfolk; 2. Harold the Dauntless published; 3. Excursion to the Lennox; 4. Rob Roy published; 5. May 1818; 6. Publication of The Heart of Mid-Lothian; 7. Declining health of Charles Duke of Buccleuch; 8. Recurrence of Scott's illness; 9. Gradual re-establishment of Scott's health; 10. Political alarms; 11. The Visionary; 12. Scott revisits London. Volume 5: 1. Autumn at Abbotsford; 2. Publication of The Abbot; 3. Visit to London; 4. Illness and death of John Ballantyne; 5. Publication of Mr Adolphus's letters on the authorship of Waverley; 6. New buildings at Abbotsford; 7. William Erskine promoted to the bench; 8. Repairs of Melrose abbey; 9. Mons Meg; 10. Quentin Durward in progress; 11. Quentin Durward published; 12. Publication of Redgauntlet; 13. Tales of the Crusaders begun. Volume 6: 1. Marriage of Lieutenant Walter Scott; 2. Excursion to Ireland; 3. Life of Napoleon in progress; 4. Sir Walter's diary begun Nov. 20, 1825; 5. Constable in London; 6. Extracts from James Ballantyne's memoranda; 7. Diary resumed; 8. Domestic afflictions; 9. Diary resumed; 10. Woodstock; 11. Journey to London and Paris. Volume 7: Preface; 1. Life of Napoleon; 2. Excursion to St Andrews; 3. The 'Opus Magnum'; 4. Journey to London; 5. Visit to Clydesdale; 6. Auchindrane, or the Ayrshire tragedy; 7. Winter at Abbotsford; 8. Apoplectic paralysis; 9. Rokeby; 10. Residence at Naples; 11. Death of Goethe; 12. Conclusion; Appendix; Index of names.

EAN: 9781108057042
ISBN: 1108057047
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Dimensions: 21 x 14 x 10 centimetres (3.88 kg)
Age Range: 15+ years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

Review this Product


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling Memoirs of the Life of Sir Walter Scott 7 Volume Set (Cambridge Library Collection - Literary Studies) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.


This item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.