Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Mothers and Daughters
By

Rating
New or Used: 4 copies from $11.04
Product Details

Promotional Information

Living for rock 'n' roll but lumbered with their mothers' dreams! A poignant new tale from the English Maeve Binchy. Brainy Dina Winstanley must carry her mother's dream to be top of the class but this means sacrificing fun in favour of studying. Brought up on myths about her mysterious father, Dina's life as she knows it is turned on its head when she discovers the truth about him. Beautiful Joy is determined to make a good marriage. After winning the "Miss Mercury" crown and meeting local heartthrob Denny Gregson, she thinks all her dreams have come true. However, her parentage proves to be an issue for her new family! Convent-educated Rosaria Santini abandons her studies to go into the chorus line. However, after facing temptation, she fless for the comforts of home. The question is, is this enough? Meanwhile, the three girl's mothers, Ana, Su and Ria, must choose whether to share their personal experiences or from a distance, allow their daughters to forge their own destinies! / The Girl from World's End and The War Widows were both Heatseekers and have sold 100k between them. / Leah Fleming is an English Maeve Binchy, a born storyteller who brings characters and landscapes vividly to life. / AVON's key Mother's Day title. / This WW2 tale set in the North is perfect for fans of Lesley Pearse, Josephine Cox, and ITV dramas such as Heartbeat, The Royal and Where the Heart Is. / Nostalgic and emotive packaging, including larger font size. / Long-term commitment to this author - new contract just signed. All bookshop, independent and library sales to Gardners Books and Betrams. www.gardners.com www.bertrams.com www.avon-books.co.uk avon@harpercollins.co.uk / Competition: Josephine Cox, Maeve Binchy, Lesley Pearse

About the Author

Leah Fleming was born in Lancashire of Scottish parents, and is married with four grown-up children and five grandchildren. She usually writes full-time from a haunted farmhouse in the Yorkshire Dales but is currently taking a gap year for grown-ups and living on the slopes of an olive grove in Crete.

Reviews

Praise for The Girl From World's End and The War Widows: 'A beautiful, almost poetically-written tale of love and tragedy in the Yorkshire Dales mainly set during the Second World War. The characters are real flesh and blood and the reader shares their ups and downs with genuine empathy.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of Mother of Pearl. 'An epic tale of hardship and tragedy straddling the Second World War.' The Bookseller 'A heartwarming read.' Closer

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Mothers and Daughters on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top