Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!



Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Contents 1: Salzburg and the Grand Tour: 1756-69 2: Works by an 'almost supernatural talent' 3: Italy: 1769-73 4: Opera seria: 'Fitting the clothes to the figure' 5: Salzburg: 1774-7 6: Sacred music: 'I have thoroughly acquainted myself with that style since my youth' 7: Mannheim and Paris: 1777-9 8: The 'Classical Style': Mozart and the keyboard 9: Salzburg and Munich: 1779-81 10: Orchestral music: 'the glorious effect of a symphony with flutes, oboes, and clarinets' 11: Vienna: 1781-5 12: Singspiel: 'music must never offend the ear' 13: Piano concertos and chamber music in 'the Land of the Clavier' 14: Vienna and Prague: 1786-8 15: Chamber music: 'The greatest composer known to me': 16: Opera buffa: 'Most important is that it must be really comic' 17: The last years: 1788-91 18: The last works: 'A rich possession, but even fairer hopes' 19: 'de morte transire ad vitam' Appendices A Calendar / B List of Works / C Personalia / D Select Bibliography / Index

About the Author

Julian Rushton is the Emeritus West Riding Professor of Music at the University of Leeds. He serves on the editorial boards of Journal of the Royal Music Association, Music Analysis, and Eighteenth-Century Music. He is the general editor of the Cambridge Music Handbook series and is the former president of the Royal Musical Association. He has published widely, especially on Mozart and Berlioz.


'An achievement of real distinction.... Rushton unfailingly captures the right tone, rendering his book accessible to the general Mozart lover and at the same time satisfying to the Mozart scholar.... This is a book to relish.'--John Irving, Eighteenth-Century Music 'An exceptional book. Rushton's Mozart is a practical guide for both the general reader and scholar. The biography is fluent, easy to understand, and supplies many updated resources. He offers a concise and up-to-date biography while meeting his objective of supplying an introduction and guide to the works.This is a well researched book that will serve as a practical guide for both the general reader and scholar.'--Jonathan Ng, Choral Journal 'Crisp, learned.'--Alex Ross, The New Yorker 'A crisp account of the composer's career, with many musical examples.... Rushton is direct, impersonal and authoritative, as befits a brief but learned introductory life. Not that he doesn't offer anecdotal material to keep the more casual reader entertained.'--Michael Dirda, Washington Pos 'Always sensitive, judicious, and stimulating. It is too short--not too short for Mozart but for Rushton, who has certainly much more to say that would be of interest.'--Charles Rosen, The New York Review of Books 'A valuable addition to the ever-growing literature on Mozart.'--Library Journal 'Rushton has pulled off something as brilliant as it is implausible: a perfectly judicious account of the life of the composer.' --Bookpage 'The finest short biography of Mozart that I know--incisive, insightful, and elegantly written. If I had to recommend one book that explained the man and his music, this would be it.'--Cliff Eisen, Department of Music, King's College London 'A splendid introduction to Mozart's life and works--carefully organized, sensibly argued, and lucidly written. Rushton brings his vast knowledge of Mozart into the biographical arena and succeeds admirably in writing for both the layman and the connoisseur of Mozart's music.' --Simon P. Keefe, Professor of Music at City University London, and editor of The Cambridge Companion to Mozart and The Cambridge Mozart Encyclopedia 'Rushton's account is succinct yet thorough, covering key areas such as the composer's relationship with freemasonry and his attitudes toward his contemporaries.'--Andrew Farach-Colton "...concise and well-written...very useful..."--Classical Net

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Mozart (Master Musicians Series) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top