Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Mr. Flood's Last Resort
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Jess Kidd is an award-winning author with a PhD in creative writing from St. Mary's University in London. She grew up as part of a large family from Ireland's County Mayo and now lives in London with her daughter. Her first book, Himself, was shortlisted for the Irish Book Awards. Learn more at JessKidd.com.

Reviews

Praise for Mr. Flood's Last Resort

"Jess Kidd delivers another charming mix of magic and mystery, this time wrapped around a tale of family love and dysfunction...The action-packed climax leaves us with the whiff of a sequel. We can only hope it will come soon."--Minneapolis Star Tribune "The gothic plot of this murder mystery (following Himself) about an Irish caregiver and her client, a cantankerous, widowed hoarder, boasts Kidd's darkly comic sensibility, atmospheric writing, and colorful characters...there are plenty of twists and perilous turns to keep the narrative moving. Kidd's novel features a winning combination of descriptive writing, black humor, and biting dialogue." --Publishers Weekly "Irish magical realism saturates this double mystery with saints, mistaken identities, and a hoarder's creepy house... The author of Himself has prepared a fine Irish feast for the literary crowd; she simultaneously delights and appalls with her odd and troubled characters, never resorting to formula."--Library Journal "[This] compelling second novel weaves love, betrayal, and forgiveness with humor, mystery, and a bit of magic...[an] absorbing mix of paranormal tragedy and heartfelt triumph will appeal to a broad swath of readers." --Booklist "It won't be like any other novel you've read this year--or maybe ever--but it's worth it."--Kirkus "Jess Kidd's mysteries refuse to conform to genre in the most delicious of ways. She sculpts her imaginative storylines with a deft hand managing to bring otherworldly elements into the intriguing mystery at the center of her plot."
--Electric Literature "A magically entertaining read...Jess Kidd has a gift for creating characters you'll love with a few cleverly chosen words." --Good Housekeeping (UK), Book of the Month "A rare delight." --Cosmopolitan (UK) "An enchanting thriller that disarms and delights...will appeal to fans of Tana French and Sophie Hannah, as it charms and unsettles in equal measure."--BookPage

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Mr. Flood's Last Resort on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top