Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

My Mother Was a Bag Lady
By

Rating
Product Details

Promotional Information

Beautifully written and utterly original in its subject - this book will get huge attention For fans of Dave Pelzer, Andrea Ashworth and Lorna Sage As shocking as Rock Me Gently, and as charming and eccentric as Sleeping Arrangements

Trailer

About the Author

Josiane Behmoiras was born in Paris in 1953 and emigrated to Israel in 1961, where she later studied film and worked as a freelance documentary director for Israeli television. In 1985 she emigrated to Australia. She completed a Masters degree in creative writing at the University of Melbourne in 2004, the year her first short stories were published. This is her first book.

Reviews

'A revelation of salty poetry and raw life, worked out in her radiant voice' Andrea Ashworth 'The brilliance of the book - which is everywhere dense, rich and associative - is that Behmoiras leaves her mother entirely in the precincts of her madness; she does not try to explain it or to rationalise it; she does not attempt to defend her mother's behaviour or to condemn the behaviour of others. This, Behmoiras seems to suggest, simply is what is: the book is pure testimony' Guardian 'The exoticism of Israel is beautifully evoked, but its riches are juxtaposed with the abuse both mother and daughter suffer. Behmoiras conveys much feeling without slipping into sentimentality' Harper's Bazaar 'Sweet and sad reflections on a provocatively unusual mother-and-daughter relationship' Good Housekeeping

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling My Mother Was a Bag Lady on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top