How does Fishpond Work?

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Name of the Blade, Book One
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

First in an urban fantasy trilogy set in London

“For fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare” – Booktrust. Ancient Japanese gods and monsters are unleashed on modern-day London in the first in an epic trilogy from an acclaimed fantasy writer. When Mio steals a priceless ancestral sword from her parents’ attic, she just wants to spice up a fancy-dress costume. But the sword is much more than some dusty antique and her actions unleash a terrible, ancient evil onto the streets of unsuspecting London. Soon Mio realises that if she cannot keep the sword safe, and learn to control its legendary powers, she will lose not only her own life ... but the love of a lifetime.

Product Details

About the Author

Zoe Marriott is the author of six critically acclaimed and beloved books, including The Swan Kingdom, which was long-listed for the Branford Boase award, and Shadows on the Moon, which won the prestigious Sasakawa Prize and was an American Junior Library Guild Selection. Zoe lives in Grimsby, Lincolnshire. Visit Zoe's blog at thezoe-trope.blogspot.co.uk or her website at ZoeMarriott.com. Follow her on Twitter (@ZMarriott).

Reviews

Fantasy writer Zoe Marriot explode back onto the scene * Times * It's been a long time since I enjoyed a book this much * The Mountains of Instead * A cracking start to The Name of the Blade trilogy, roll on number 2! * Books4Teens * If you like your trilogies fast and furious, then this is definitely for you * Serendipity Reviews * Clever and cool all at once * Sister Spooky * I just want more of everything * Fluttering Butterflies * I cannot rave about The Night Itself enough * Readaraptor * I just fell for it, hook line and sinker * The Pewter Wolf * My only disappointment is that I've got to wait another year for the next instalment * Feeling Fictional * I can already tell that it will become one of my favourite series, like, ever * Cic Loves Books * I am so looking forward to reading more in this series! I just want more of everything. * Fluttering Butterflies * If you want a book that you can relate to but with a different and fresh perspective that go read this book * Teacher Moloney King * This book is definitely right up there with some of my favourites. * Juniper's Jungle * There was nothing in it I would change, which is wonderful and scary because how is the next book going to live up to that? * Luna's Little Library * I adored The Night Itself * Big Book Little Book * Cool, fast-paced and fun. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * A rising star of fantasy fiction. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * [A] readable and engaging story. . . for fans of Maggie Stiefvater and Cassandra Clare * Booktrust * Marriott has a high level if literary intelligence and is terrific at rebooting fairy-tales with wonderful descriptions of the natural world. -- Amanda Craig * The Times * YA urban fantasy, with as much glittery glamour as action... the use of Japanese legends coming to life in modern London to create the supernatural elements enlivens the plot. * The School Librarian * Fantasy aspects are skilfully woven into a credible urban setting and the romantic element of the novel is mostly subtle but can be quiveringly intense when it needs to be. * Inis * Lived up to every expectation I had. It was gripping, fast paced and had so many twists in it, I never felt bored when reading this * The Pewter Wolf *

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Name of the Blade, Book One: The Night Itself (The Name of the Blade) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top