Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1)
By

Rating
The first in a blistering new trilogy from Jen Williams, acclaimed author of British Fantasy Award-nominated Copper Cat trilogy. Epic fantasy for fans of Robin Hobb and Children of Blood and Bone. 'Fantasy adventure at its very best' Starburst 'Williams excels at eldritch world-building' Guardian 'An original new voice in heroic fantasy' Adrian Tchaikovsky The great city of Ebora once glittered with gold. Now its streets are stalked by wolves. Tormalin the Oathless has no taste for sitting around waiting to die while the realm of his storied ancestors falls to pieces - talk about a guilt trip. Better to be amongst the living, where there are taverns full of women and wine. When eccentric explorer, Lady Vincenza 'Vintage' de Grazon, offers him employment, he sees an easy way out. Even when they are joined by a fugitive witch with a tendency to set things on fire, the prospect of facing down monsters and retrieving ancient artefacts is preferable to the abomination he left behind. But not everyone is willing to let the Eboran empire collapse, and the adventurers are quickly drawn into a tangled conspiracy of magic and war. For the Jure'lia are coming, and the Ninth Rain must fall... What readers are saying about THE NINTH RAIN: 'A great read with heart and soul and epic beasties' 'Brilliantly creative fantasy' 'Great pacing, top-notch writing, quality characterisation, plenty of action!'
Product Details

About the Author

JEN WILLIAMS started writing about pirates and dragons as a young girl and hasn't ever stopped. Her short stories have featured in numerous anthologies and her debut novel, The Copper Promise, was published in 2014 to huge acclaim. Jen was nominated in the Best Newcomer category at the 2015 British Fantasy Awards and her following two novels, The Iron Ghost and The Silver Tide were both shortlisted for the British Fantasy Awards Novel of the Year. Jen lives in London with her partner and their cat.

Reviews

Brilliantly creative fantasy * This Northern Gal * The Ninth Rain is full of tropes written in a different and clever way. The drop-dead gorgeous man? He's the source of comedy. Immortals living off human blood but dying as well because of it? Yes, sounds like vampires, although they're not called as such in this book. The threat of zombies and zombie-infestation? They're present too, but not the usual plot line that involves a virus or what not. It was all so brilliantly done' * The Travelling Bibliophile * A very original fantasy world * Story Collector * A cracking story that grips you by the heart and doesn't let go -- Edward Cox Jen Williams takes us on another great adventure. Fresh, engaging, and full of heart -- Peter Newman The Ninth Rain is a fast-paced and vibrant fantasy romp through a new world, full of people you want to spend time with and enemies you'd happily run from * SciFiNow * Yet again, Williams has created an addictive and coherent fantasy world filled with all sorts of deliciously interesting things within it... This is fantasy adventure at its very best. Go check it out * Starburst * There is so much to praise about The Ninth Rain: the worldbuilding is top-notch, the plot is gripping and the characters just get better and better. A sublime read * SFX * Williams portrays her characters as flawed but humane, propels the plot with expert pace, and excels at eldritch world-building * Guardian * Absolutely phenomenal fantasy -- Adrian Tchaikovsky

Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Ninth Rain (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy 1) (The Winnowing Flame Trilogy) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top