Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Obsidian Mirror
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Catherine Fisher (www.catherine-fisher.co.uk and www.incarceronbook.com) acclaimed poet and novelist, was born in Newport, Wales. She graduated from the University of Wales with a degree in English and a fascination for myth and history. She was named the first Children's Laureate of Wales and was invited to Buckingham Palace to meet Queen Elizabeth. She is the author of the critically acclaimed and New York Times bestselling books Incarceron and Sapphique.

Reviews

Praise for Obsidian Mirror: * "A spell-binding maze of mystery-filled pages full of unexpected twists and turns that will draw readers in ... combines time travel, the fey or faeries, and a future in ruins with potent success... Fans of Kady Cross, Cassandre Clare, and Doctor Who will be enthralled with this must-read title." -VOYA, starred review "Fisher effectively alternates brooding mystery with thrilling action. This blend of science fiction and fantasy is certified fresh." -Booklist "Punctuated with narrow-escape scenes and, in its time-travel plot, hints at thinking about how acts of the present impinge on the future." -The Horn Book "Readers will be dazzled, captivated, and desperate for the next installment." -Kirkus Reviews "An engrossing, enthralling fiction." -The New York Times

Gr 6 Up-In an exciting opening chapter, Jack Wilde's plan to get kicked out of boarding school works perfectly. He is sent to his wealthy guardian's home in the English countryside, where he plans to confront his guardian and godfather, Oberon Venn, about his father's disappearance. The teen suspects Venn of murder, but discovers that the truth is far more complicated. Venn, his butler, and numerous cats rattle around in Wintercombe Abbey, working on experiments with the Chronoptika, an ancient device that allows people to travel through time. The machine's history is murky and there are no instructions as to its safe use. Sarah, a young woman with her own secrets and interests in the Chronoptika's power, joins the household. A scarred man, an evil Replicant, and a Time Wolf prowl around, and the Wood surrounding the Abbey is full of hidden dangers. There is a notebook that communicates with the future, and in the Wood, the Shee add a Celtic fairy element to the story. The plot is told from varying points of view and set in different times. During his time travels, Jack trails his father to 1848 London, where he is befriended by a street urchin before being sucked back to the present. Sarah, in turn, is from a future that will be desolate if she does not complete her mission. The several interesting story lines have their moments, but the many loose ends make it clear that this trilogy opener is not meant to stand alone.-Maggie Knapp, Trinity Valley School, Fort Worth, TX (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Obsidian Mirror on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top