Australasia's Biggest Online Store

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Odd Child Out
By

Rating
Product Details

Reviews

"Gilly Macmillan introduces some smart variations on the [missing child] theme in her debut mystery...Macmillan enlivens the narrative with emails, newspaper headlines, passages from professional journals, even transcripts from Inspector Clemo's sessions with a psychotherapist. But her best move is to include vicious blog posts that go viral."--New York Times Book Review "A nuanced, completely addictive debut."--People "Macmillan captivates readers with a story just as addictive as her first... [and] shines when exploring the intricacies of relationships... Fans of Tana French, Ruth Ware, and Gillian Flynn will become completely entrenched in the unfolding details."--BookPage "With lovely prose, depth of character and an intelligent narrative, Macmillan lifts the level of suspense with stiletto-like precision: a tiny graze here, a shallow cut there and, eventually, a thrust into the heart. At once profoundly unsettling and richly rewarding."--Richmond Times-Dispatch "Macmillan's magnificent debut delves into the emotional destruction wrought by Ben's disappearance. No one is unaffected, and she draws out every inch of trauma suffered by all as they search for the boy. . . The culprit is truly a surprise under Macmillan's clever pen."--RT Book Reviews (top pick) "A very clever, tautly plotted page turned from a terrific new writer"--Good Housekeeping "Heart-in-the-mouth excitement from the start of this electrifyingly good debut...an absolute firecracker of a thriller that convinces and captivates from the word go. A must read."--Sunday Mirror "Macmillan peppers her debut with subtle red herrings and a variety of potential suspects, ratcheting up the tension slowly but oh so deliciously."--Booklist "One of the brightest debuts I have read this year -- a visceral, emotionally charged story....heart-wrenchingly well told and expertly constructed, this deserves to stay on the bestseller list until Christmas"--The Daily Mail "An engaging debut."--Kirkus Reviews "Readers will have a tough time putting this one down.--Publishers Weekly "A terrific debut"--Reader's Digest "What an amazing, gripping, beautifully written debut. WHAT SHE KNEW kept me up late into the night (and scared the life out of me)."--Liane Moriarty, New York Times bestselling author ""In this engrossing novel... the action builds to a shattering conclusion."--Publishers Weekly "Macmillan excels at getting into the minds of terrified, brokenhearted parents... This mix of police procedural and thriller will satisfy fans of the author's previous work as well as those looking for something after Tana French."--Booklist "The story is emotionally compelling and Macmillan nails the complexity of adolescent friendship..."--Kirkus "This is a fascinating book focusing on the aftermath of the Somalian concentration camps and the effect it held on those who were involved... Macmillan changes the course of direction of the story several times, which makes for interesting reading. The characterizations are vivid and come alive on the page."--RT BOOKReviews "hard to put down the book... The storyline is intriguing, full of twists and turns, and readers will become fully invested in these characters, all of whom are interesting in their own right."--Bookreporter.com "[A] taut psychological thriller"--Birmingham magazine "intricately worked out and impossible to put down"--Sullivan County Democrat "This accomplished, intelligent debut should come with a warning--it's completely addictive. A nail-biting, sleep-depriving, brilliant read."--Saskia Sarginson, author of The Twins "With characters who are sympathetic and believable, Macmillan's latest will keep readers in suspense to the very end. Highly recommended."--Library Journal (starred review) "Subtle, nuanced writing and a compelling, timely story taut with tension--Odd Child Out is a hugely satisfying and thrilling read. Highly recommended!"--Shari Lapena, New York Times bestselling author of The Couple Next Door "With tightly drawn characters, a fascinating storyline and absolutely exquisite narration, The Perfect Girl is sure to keep readers up all night. Gilly Macmillan proves once again to be a master of the written word and is quickly becoming one of my go-to authors."--Mary Kubica, New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Baby "A mother and son spend an ordinary Sunday at a park near Londontown. Until the boy goes missing. Cue dramatic music. This read's basically The Changeling meets an episode of Law and Order: Special Victims Unit but set in the UK."--The Skimm "As the suspenseful, serpentine tale unreels from the alternating perspectives of several key players, readers will be rooting for the resilient, resourceful Zoe all the way to the perfectly executed final twists."--Publishers Weekly (starred review) PRAISE FOR WHAT SHE KNEW -What an amazing, gripping, beautifully written debut. What She Knew kept me up late into the night (and scared the life out of me).---Liane Moriarty, New York Times bestselling author PRAISE FOR THE PERFECT GIRL -A compelling read for fans of psychological suspense.---Library Journal review Praise for The Perfect Girl: -Gilly Macmillan (What She Knew) deftly explores the intricacies of relationships and the bonds that tie families all while ratcheting up the suspense in this page-turning thriller.---Real Simple magazine Praise for What She Knew: -A mother and son spend an ordinary Sunday at a park near Londontown. Until the boy goes missing. Cue dramatic music. This read's basically The Changeling meets an episode of Law and Order: Special Victims Unit but set in the UK.---The Skimm "Tightly focused and fast-paced. You won't rest until you really know what happened."--Lisa Ballantyne, author of The Guilty One PRAISE FOR WHAT SHE KNEW "What an amazing, gripping, beautifully written debut. What She Knew kept me up late into the night (and scared the life out of me)."--Liane Moriarty, New York Times bestselling author "I DEVOURED The Perfect Girl. An incredible page turner with awesome characters and suspense. Bravo."--Kate White, New York Times bestselling author PRAISE FOR THE PERFECT GIRL "A compelling read for fans of psychological suspense."--Library Journal review "A wonderfully addictive book with virtuoso plotting and characters -- for anyone who loved Girl on the Train, it's a must read."--Rosamund Lupton Praise for The Perfect Girl: "Gilly Macmillan (What She Knew) deftly explores the intricacies of relationships and the bonds that tie families all while ratcheting up the suspense in this page-turning thriller."--Real Simple magazine Praise for What She Knew: "A mother and son spend an ordinary Sunday at a park near Londontown. Until the boy goes missing. Cue dramatic music. This read's basically The Changeling meets an episode of Law and Order: Special Victims Unit but set in the UK."--The Skimm

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Odd Child Out on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top