COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

One Under
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Graham Hurley's reputation is growing with every book. He has been one of the Independent on Sunday's Top Five Crime Writers for 3 years in a row. ONE UNDER hardback reprinted within a month of publication. Graham Hurley always receives excellent reviews: 'There is no one writing better police procedurals today than Graham Hurley. He gives an almost cinematic quality to the narrative, creating a convincing sense of watching a team of real detectives at work' Telegraph '[Faraday] is cementing his reputation as one of Britain's most credible official sleuths, crisscrossing the mean streets of a city that is a brilliantly depicted microcosm of contemporary Britain ... a sterling demonstration of the way crime writing can target society's woes' Guardian. 'Another first rate thriller from a writer who is firmly up there with the best' Sunday Telegraph. 'There is no doubt that his series of police-procedural novels is one of the best since the genre was invented more than half a century ago' Literary Review. 'This is how a crime novel should be written, and it pushes Hurley right to the forefront of British crime writers, which is where he richly deserves to be' Independent on Sunday.

About the Author

Graham Hurley is an award-winning TV documentary maker who now writes full-time. He lived in Portsmouth for over 20 years. He is married and has grown up children and now lives in Exmouth in Devon.Previous titles:One Under (TPB Apr 07);Blood and Honey;Cut to Black;Deadlight;Angels Passing;Take;Turnstone;Permissible Limits;Nocturne;Airshow

Reviews

Hurley's (Blood and Honey) seventh police procedural begins with a jolt as a commuter train rolls over a man chained to the tracks. Handling the case is the Portsmouth Major Crimes Squad, headed by Detective Inspector Joe Faraday. Identifying the man is only part of their problem; Faraday and Detective Constable Paul Winter must also face their own personal demons and fears. Hurley never writes a simple story, and here the dense, layered plotting, complex character development, and thought-provoking details and motives add depth to an engrossing tale of twisted motivation behind a murder. Fans of P.D. James, John Harvey, and Jill McGown will appreciate this solid British crime novel. Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

"This is how a crime novel should be written..."

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top