Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

The Orphan Master's Son
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

WINNER OF THE PULITZER PRIZE FOR FICTION 2013 - the dark and hilarious story of a young man's passage through the prison camps and dictatorship of North Korea. For fans of THE UNDERGROUND RAILROAD, FLEISHMAN IS IN TROUBLE and CLOUD ATLAS

About the Author

Adam Johnson teaches creative writing at Stanford University. His second novel THE ORPHAN MASTER'S SON won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 2013 and was a New York Times bestseller. His short story NIRVANA won the EFG/Sunday Times Best Short Story Award 2014. He lives in San Francisco with his family.

Reviews

An addictive novel of daring ingenuity; a study of sacrifice and freedom in a citizen-eating dynasty; and a timely reminder that anonymous victims of oppression are also human beings who love. A brave and impressive book -- David Mitchell, author of THE THOUSAND AUTUMNS OF JACOB DE ZOET
A flamboyantly grim epic of totalitarianism... this larger-than-life, two-fisted picaresque manages to be a page-turner... an ambitious book * The Sunday Times *
One of those books where you know you've found yourself in the hands of someone who can really tell a story, and is yet not naive about the artificiality of stories. The conceit is fantastic: a narration partly told through the loud speakers of the North Korean regime. -- Zadie Smith
Fast-paced and intriguing.. this complex, multi-voiced narrative will remind some readers of David Mitchell's similarly inventive tale, Cloud Atlas... It is magnificent * Financial Times *
What we have here are the ingredients of an across-the-board smash hit: sympathetic characters, an exotic, unknowable setting and a plot that will carry you along more convincingly than any of the fictions used by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. -- David Annand * Sunday Telegraph *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Orphan Master's Son on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top