SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

New or Used: 4 copies from $9.50
The ones you leave behind are the ones that stay with you forever! When Madeleine Belfield loses her family and her home in the Blitz, she is sent to love with relatives in the relative safety of the Yorkshire Dales. On board the steam train Maddy befriends Gloria Conley and her brother Sid, abandoned by their desperate mother. Although Maddy and Gloria are chalk and cheese, they soon vow to be 'forever friends'. Maddy slowly adjusts to Brooklyn Hall and her new family, especially Aunt Plum. Eager to help with the war effort, Plum has opened up a home for 'difficult' evacuees and Maddy and Gloria quickly become bound together in friendship and mischief with a motley crew, including headstrong Greg and flighty Enid. The friendship endures into adulthood, until a tragic experience tears them apart. Desperate to escape her memories, Maddy flees to London. Years later, chance reunites her with Gloria and Greg. But a visit back to Yorkshire reveals the truth about the past - a revelation with unimaginable consequences.
Product Details

Promotional Information

The ones you leave behind are the ones that stay with you forever... When Madeleine Belfield loses her family and her home in the Blitz, she is sent to love with relatives in the relative safety of the Yorkshire Dales. On board the steam train Maddy befriends Gloria Conley and her brother Sid, abandoned by their desperate mother. Although Maddy and Gloria are chalk and cheese, they soon vow to be 'forever friends'. Maddy slowly adjusts to Brooklyn Hall and her new family, especially Aunt Plum. Eager to help with the war effort, Plum has opened up a home for 'difficult' evacuees and Maddy and Gloria quickly become bound together in friendship and mischief with a motley crew, including headstrong Greg and flighty Enid. The friendship endures into adulthood, until a tragic experience tears them apart. Desperate to escape her memories, Maddy flees to London. Years later, chance reunites her with Gloria and Greg. But a visit back to Yorkshire reveals the truth about the past - a revelation with unimaginable consequences. / The author draws inspiration from the small village she lives in, located in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales / Leah Fleming is an English Maeve Binchy, a born storyteller who brings characters and landscapes vividly to life. / Perfect for fans of Lesley Pearce, Josephine Cox, and ITV dramas such as Heartbeat, The Royal and Where the Heart Is. / Innovative packaging including larger font size / Consumer-focused sales and marketing campaign / Classic nostalgic packaging All bookshop, independent and library sales to Gardners Books and Betrams. www.gardners.com www.bertrams.com www.avon-books.co.uk avon@harpercollins.co.uk / Competition: Josephine Cox, Maeve Binchy, Lesley Pearse

About the Author

Leah Fleming was born in Lancashire of Scottish parents, and is married with four grown-up children and five grandchildren. She usually writes full-time from a haunted farmhouse in the Yorkshire Dales but is currently taking a gap year for grown-ups and living on the slopes of an olive grove in Crete.

Reviews

Praise for The Girl From World's End and The War Widows: 'A beautiful, almost poetically-written tale of love and tragedy in the Yorkshire Dales mainly set during the Second World War. The characters are real flesh and blood and the reader shares their ups and downs with genuine empathy.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of Mother of Pearl. 'An epic tale of hardship and tragedy straddling the Second World War.' The Bookseller 'A heartwarming read.' Closer 'A good read to curl up with.' Lincolnshire Echo

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Orphans of War on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top