Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Our Farm
By

Rating
What's a city girl doing in the country? After leaving the editorship of the Daily Express in 2001, Rosie Boycott wasn't sure what to do next. The natural step would have been to stay in London and continue her highly successful media career. But an horrific car accident which left her on crutches for eighteen months forced Rosie to rethink her life, turning her in a direction she would never previously have imagined. When an opportunity arises to rent a small farm in Somerset, Rosie and her new husband Charlie decide to take it, determined to throw themselves into a new challenge and to make the land profitable. It proves a daunting task, but it also reaps rewards that have nothing to do with money, rewards they never expected. For what follows is an immersion in rural living which is often hilarious, sometimes profoundly moving. Pigs, ducks and geese are fattened for the butcher, occasionally with lamentable results; vegetables and cut flowers are grown for a reluctant marketplace, as Rosie and Charlie discover more and more about the hard graft of running a smallholding. Gradually they, the land and the seasons being to work harmoniously together. They learn, too, about the boisterous personalities of the animals in their care, and about weightier issues that affect the local community of Ilminster - particularly the new supermarket which threatens the soul of the local town centre. As well as giving this compelling and endearing account of a new life in the country, Rosie finds recovery in the rhythms of the seasons and the complex patterns of the natural world. Throughout, she reflects deeply on our intimate relationship with nature and, ultimately, its power to heal.
Product Details

Promotional Information

Not on the Label meets Jimmy's Farm in this powerful, entertaining and honest modern take on 'the good life' Major author tour, review coverage, radio promotion and TV interviews Consumer campaign with organic vegetable box supplier For fans of Driving Over Lemons, The Farm and Jamie Oliver's School Dinners

About the Author

Rosie Boycott was one of the founders of Spare Rib magazine and Virago Press. She was the editor of Esquire magazine, as well as of the Independent on Sunday, the Independent and the Daily Express. She is a frequent contributor to the Late Review, Woman's Hour and the Politics Show, and has presented her own show on BBC2, Life Etc.She is also the author of A Nice Girl Like Me, an autobiographical story of the 60s and 70s. Rosie is married to the barrister Charles Howard and they live in London and Somerset. She has one daughter, Daisy, four stepchildren, Miranda, Luke, Alex and Francesca, two dogs, Bingo and Dylan, and numerous pigs, chickens, geese and turkeys.

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Our Farm: A Year in the Life of a Smallholding on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top