Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Patty Jane Dobbin should have known to marry a man as gorgeous as Thor Rolvaag, but she was too smitten to think twice. Yet nine months into their marriage, with a baby on the way, Thor is gone. It's a good thing Patty Jane has her irrepressible sister, Harriet, to rely on. For it's been said that a fine haircut can cure any number of ills, and before long the Minnesota sisters have opened a neighborhood beauty parlor complete with live harp music and an endless supply of delicious Norwegian baked goods. It's a wonderful, warmhearted place where you can count on good friends, lots of laughter, tears, and comfort when you need it--and the unmistakable scent of somebody getting a permanent wave. . . .
Product Details

About the Author

Lorna Landvik is also the author of the bestselling Your Oasis on Flame Lake and the upcoming The Tall Pine Polka. She has worked as an actor, a comedian, and a speed typist in the 1984 Los Angeles Olympics. She lives with her husband, two daughters, and their dog, Petunia.

Reviews

"Fun and funny, spiked with tragedy and sad times."--USA Today "A FUNNY, POIGNANT FIRST NOVEL ABOUT THE BONDS BETWEEN WOMEN."--Houston Chronicle "Patty Jane's House of Curl has the emotional warmth of Lake Wobegon and the tender/tough female characters who populated Fried Green Tomatoes. . . . A unique story."--St. Paul Pioneer Press "WARM, TENDER, ULTIMATELY INSPIRATIONAL."--West Coast Review of Books "HOMESPUN WISDOM PEPPERS EVERY PAGE."--Publishers Weekly "Lorna Landvik stands by her characters . . . embracing their eccentricities, delighting in their accomplishments, forgiving them their failings. She knows these people and loves them--and gives us their story with uncommon wit and charm and, best of all, a wonderful sense of mischief."--STEVEN ZAILLIAN Oscar-winning writer of the screenplay for Schindler's List "Patty Jane's House of Curl is the story of women 'who were lucky enough to find a place where they could not only talk, but be heard.' Like Ione's famous coffee cakes, the frosting may be treacle-sweet, but underneath there's something substantial."--The Dallas Morning News "This book is worth reading and rereading. . . . Landvik evokes female bonding and tragedy in a humorous way."--The Register-Herald (West Virginia) "Funny and romantic . . . Peopled with characters so real, so warm, so funny, the book could be a Northern Exposure in print. . . . Readers will be reminded that this is what it is like to live."--The Stuart News "A cast of characters funny, sad, and real. You can't help but laugh and shed a tear. Has been compared to Fannie Flagg's Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, but for Midwesterners it holds a special appeal with a terrific sense of place."--BookWomen (Minnesota) "Amazingly vivid . . . This novel breezes merrily along, but don't read it without a hankie. This is a winner for fans of Garrison Keillor and Danielle Steel."--Library Journal Fun and funny, spiked with tragedy and sad times. USA Today A FUNNY, POIGNANT FIRST NOVEL ABOUT THE BONDS BETWEEN WOMEN. Houston Chronicle Patty Jane s House of Curl has the emotional warmth of Lake Wobegon and the tender/tough female characters who populated Fried Green Tomatoes. . . . A unique story. St. Paul Pioneer Press WARM, TENDER, ULTIMATELY INSPIRATIONAL. West Coast Review of Books HOMESPUN WISDOM PEPPERS EVERY PAGE. Publishers Weekly Lorna Landvik stands by her characters . . . embracing their eccentricities, delighting in their accomplishments, forgiving them their failings. She knows these people and loves them and gives us their story with uncommon wit and charm and, best of all, a wonderful sense of mischief. STEVEN ZAILLIAN Oscar-winning writer of the screenplay for Schindler s List Patty Jane s House of Curl is the story of women who were lucky enough to find a place where they could not only talk, but be heard. Like Ione s famous coffee cakes, the frosting may be treacle-sweet, but underneath there s something substantial. The Dallas Morning News This book is worth reading and rereading. . . . Landvik evokes female bonding and tragedy in a humorous way. The Register-Herald (West Virginia) Funny and romantic . . . Peopled with characters so real, so warm, so funny, the book could be a Northern Exposure in print. . . . Readers will be reminded that this is what it is like to live. The Stuart News A cast of characters funny, sad, and real. You can t help but laugh and shed a tear. Has been compared to Fannie Flagg s Fried Green Tomatoes at the Whistle Stop Cafe, but for Midwesterners it holds a special appeal with a terrific sense of place. BookWomen (Minnesota) Amazingly vivid . . . This novel breezes merrily along, but don t read it without a hankie. This is a winner for fans of Garrison Keillor and Danielle Steel. Library Journal"

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Patty Jane's House of Curl: A Novel on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top