COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Pecked To Death By Ducks
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Extreme travel writing for fans of Bill Bryson, Peter Moore, P.J. O'Rourke, Tim Moore.

About the Author

Tim Cahill is the author of seven books, including A Wolverine Is Eating My Leg, Jaguars Ripped My Flesh, Pecked to Death by Ducks, Pass the Butterworms and Hold the Enlightenment. He is an editor at large for Outside magazine, and his work appears in National Geographic Adventure, The New York Times Book Review, and other national publications. He lives in Montana.

Reviews

There are no ducks in this book; the title simply appealed to the author as expressive of this hodgepodge of pieces about his own and others' adventures. Cahill ( Road Fever ), a contributing editor of Outside magazine, where many of these articles appeared, covered amazing jaunts: the exploration by spelunkers of the newly discovered Lechuguilla Cave near Carlsbad, N.M.; a trip of sea-kayakers in the Gulf of California; the arrest of members of the Dangerous Sports Club who, dressed in tuxedos and looking for fun and attention, jumped off a Bristol, England, bridge on elastic bungee cords. Cahill searched for giant clams in Tonga, fished in Guatemala, and interviewed diamond miners in Brazil and ranchers in Montana. He has dived with sharks, jumped out of airplanes, climbed mountains in Africa and South America, trekked through equatorial jungles and, as he explains, generally scared himself silly. But, unfortunately, for him and for those he writes about, risk generates a euphoria that these pedestrian reports do not always convey. (Feb.)

This is not, strictly speaking, a travel book but a collection of articles, most of them previously published in various magazines, on a variety of subjects. The author places the articles into five categories: The Unnatural World, Tooth and Claw, The Natural World, Other People's Lives, and Risk. Cahill, author of Jaguars Ripped My Flesh ( LJ 10/1/87) and A Wolverine Is Eating My Leg ( LJ 2/15/89), has traveled around the world on assignment, covering a wide range of unusual events such as firewalking, caving, etc. He writes with a keen sense of humor, but with a serious and informed attitude. The reader won't find tips on hotels, food, or transportation but a rich and varied tour of interesting and unusual places and events. Recommended for all travel collections.-- George M. Jenks, Bucknell Univ., Lewisburg, Pa.

'Tim Cahill is a good companion to quip with while you explore most of the continents, taking time out, as few of us rarely do, to get good and properly lost' * New York Times Book Review *
'Irreverence is a specialty of Tim Cahill's generation and he ranks among its apostles' * Washington Post *
Tim Cahill lives the life of adventure we all wanted when we were kids' * Village Voice *
'Cahill can be a lot of fun to hang out with. Here is a writer blessed not only with wit and style, but feeling and compassion' * San Francisco Chronicle *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top