SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Promise of Happiness
By

Rating
New or Used: 2 copies from $18.00
Product Details

Promotional Information

Shortlisted for Richard and Judy's Book Club For fans of Nabokov, Coetzee, Ian McEwan and Martin Amis Cartwright has previously been shortlisted for the Booker Prize and won the Whitbread Novel Award 1998 Major trade and consumer advertising campaign

About the Author

Justin Cartwright's novels include the Booker-shortlisted In Every Face I Meet, the Whitbread Novel Award-winner Leading the Cheers and the acclaimed White Lightning which was shortlisted for the 2002 Whitbread Novel Award. Justin Cartwright was born in South Africa, and now lives in Islington, London.

Reviews

Cartwright's hilarious, despairing, rapier-sharp third book (Leading the Cheers) delivers a great deal of the absent titular emotion. The five members of the Judd family, reeling from a series of personal and professional blows, have each retreated into a private world. But the impending release of eldest daughter Juliet, an art historian incarcerated in an upstate New York prison for helping to sell stolen Tiffany windows, sets the plot-and the family-in motion. As Juliet-once the apple of her parents' eye but now the family's black sheep-drives to the city with brother Charlie, her father mulls his own professional disgrace, her mother looks to home cooking as a salve, sister Sophie continues to wean herself off drugs (and a married man) and Charlie, the rock of the family, has doubts about his impending marriage to a South American socialite. Each sees their efforts as "the secretion of human folly," but the novel retains a measure of hope for the very thing it despairs of: family. Happiness may be too much to ask for, but its chase, Cartwright suggests, can be at the best of times a family pursuit. (Jan.) Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

'Justin Cartwright is one of our best novelists' Allison Pearson, Daily Telegraph 'Brilliant, dazzling, unsettling; subtle and haunting; complex and multi-layered; deeply moving ... Cartwright manages to combine the thrilling readability of genre fiction with the unpredictability and strangeness of a literary master' Independent on Sunday 'Justin Cartwright looks to be one of the finest novelists currently at work' Guardian 'Cartwright has been gaining a formidable literary reputation, and each new book has only added to it. This one is a special treat: as entertaining as it is thought-provoking. It confirms his status as one of our foremost novelists' Daily Mail

Award-winning British author Cartwright (Leading the Cheers) again offers a wry exploration of human foibles and the dark comedy of relationships. The Judd family is in crisis: Charles Judd has been forced into an uneasy retirement living in Cornwall with his worried wife. Their "years together have produced a fine mist of resentment which neither of them can quite dispel." His younger children are confused and self-critical and his beloved eldest daughter is in prison. Charles often behaves horribly, but his quest for a moral universe has been imprinted on his children, who are thus saved from shallowness-though they still struggle with "the promise of happiness" their embittered father denigrates. Like Jonathan Franzen, with whom he has been compared, Cartwright writes pitch-perfect dialog, inhabits his female characters as fully as he does the male, and glares unflinchingly at contemporary life. He knowingly delineates the darkest traits of decent people; the vain, petty, and hateful things most people say only to themselves. His characters are nonetheless endearing and his intricate, nuanced portrayals of family relationships astoundingly good.-Laurie Sullivan, Sage Group Internationl, Nashville Copyright 2005 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Promise of Happiness on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top