Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Pumpkin Pumpkin
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Reviews

From seed to sprout to plant to flower to pumpkin, Jamie watches the extraordinary process of nature. A pumpkin grows until it's large enough to make an impressive jack-o'-lantern, and Jamie picks it. After carving it, he saves some seeds to plant in the spring, thus perpetuating the cycle. The text is set in large, bold print, facing each full-page illustration. Stages of growth are seen in relation to the boy; the tiny seed in his hand, the growing pumpkin next to his bare feet and tennis shoes, Jamie sitting on the mature pumpkin. Titherington used colored pencils for her exquisite drawings; the quality is breathtakingly soft and expressive. (2-6)

PreS-Gr 2 Softly colored pencil illustrations in a realistic style effectively communicate Jamie's pride as a very young gardener. He plants a seed, then grows and harvests a pumpkin from which he saves seeds for next year. The large, detailed drawings capture Jamie's anticipation and pleasure just right. The garden creatures appearing on every page and grandpa, whom we catch sight of now and then, are a delightful supporting cast. Nonreaders can easily follow the story in pictures alone. Very large, clear print on facing pages makes the simple narrative inviting for beginning readers, too. Libraries serving young children shouldn't miss this satisfying book in the tradition of Ruth Krauss and Crockett Johnson's The Carrot Seed (Harper, 1945) and Bijou Le Tord's Rabbit Seeds (Four Winds, 1984). The strong sense of the cycles of nature and a youngster's accomplishment make for a winning combination. Anna Biagioni Hart, Sherwood Regional Lib . , Alexandria, Va.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Pumpkin Pumpkin on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top