Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Resurrectionist
By

Rating
Philadelphia. The late 1870s. A city of cobblestone sidewalks and horse-drawn carriages. Home to the famous anatomist and surgeon Dr. Spencer Black. The son of a "resurrectionist" (aka grave robber), Dr. Black studied at Philadelphia's esteemed Academy of Medicine, where he develops an unconventional hypothesis: What if the world's most celebrated mythological beasts - mermaids, minotaurs, and satyrs - were in fact the evolutionary ancestors of humankind? "The Resurrectionist" offers two extraordinary books in one. The first is a fictional biography of Dr. Spencer Black, from his humble beginnings to the mysterious disappearance at the end of his life. The second book is Black's magnum opus: "The Codex Extinct Animalia, a Gray's Anatomy" for mythological beasts - dragons, centaurs, Pegasus, Cerberus - all rendered in meticulously detailed black-and-white anatomical illustrations. You need only look at these images to realize they are the work of a madman. "The Resurrectionist" tells his story.
Product Details

About the Author

E. B. HUDSPETH is an artist and author living in New Jersey. This is his first book.

Reviews

Named as Part of Bustle's Scariest Book in Your State for Pennsylvania. "Color us captivated. This collection seems a treat for anatomy enthusiasts and creaturephiles alike."--io9 "E.B. Hudspeth's The Resurrectionist is PFA (that's pretty freaking amazing)"--ComicsBeat.com "These detailed and fantastical drawings will intrigue any reader curious about the hypothetical anatomy of mythical creatures such as mermaids, minotaurs, and harpies. In the context of the story that precedes them, they prompt disquieting thoughts about the extreme lengths to which the fictional Dr. Black may have been willing to go to prove his assumptions, and what--or who--may have served as his models."--ForeWord Reviews ..".a bit of Charles Darwin and a bit of P.T. Barnum."--Inked Magazine "Doctors Moreau and Frankenstein should make room for a new member of their league of extraordinarily grotesque gentlemen, for there is a new mad scientist in pop culture."--Aaron Sagers, MTV Geek "The vivid imagery unveiled becomes the dark fantasy response to Gray's Anatomy..."--Filter Magazine "The book is a welcome addition to any library of dark fantasy, with its beautiful portraiture and gripping description of a man's descent into perversity."--Publishers Weekly, "Pick of the Week" "Disturbingly lovely . . . The Resurrectionist is itself a cabinet of curiosities, stitching history and mythology and sideshow into an altogether different creature. Deliciously macabre and beautifully grotesque."--Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus "A masterful mash-up of Edgar Allan Poe and Jorge Luis Borges, with the added allure of gorgeous, demonically detailed drawings. I've never seen anything quite like The Resurrectionist, and I doubt that I will ever forget it."--Chase Novak, author of Breed "Fans of Neil Gaiman, Hieronymus Bosch, and the M�tter Museum are sure to love [The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black] and the rest will certainly be both astounded and intrigued by what you find inside!"--The Garden Island "Color us captivated. This collection seems a treat for anatomy enthusiasts and creaturephiles alike."--io9 "E.B. Hudspeth's The Resurrectionist is PFA (that's pretty freaking amazing)"--ComicsBeat.com "These detailed and fantastical drawings will intrigue any reader curious about the hypothetical anatomy of mythical creatures such as mermaids, minotaurs, and harpies. In the context of the story that precedes them, they prompt disquieting thoughts about the extreme lengths to which the fictional Dr. Black may have been willing to go to prove his assumptions, and what--or who--may have served as his models."--ForeWord Reviews ..".a bit of Charles Darwin and a bit of P.T. Barnum."--Inked Magazine "Doctors Moreau and Frankenstein should make room for a new member of their league of extraordinarily grotesque gentlemen, for there is a new mad scientist in pop culture."--Aaron Sagers, MTV Geek "The vivid imagery unveiled becomes the dark fantasy response to Gray's Anatomy..."--Filter Magazine "The book is a welcome addition to any library of dark fantasy, with its beautiful portraiture and gripping description of a man's descent into perversity."--Publishers Weekly, "Pick of the Week" "Disturbingly lovely . . . The Resurrectionist is itself a cabinet of curiosities, stitching history and mythology and sideshow into an altogether different creature. Deliciously macabre and beautifully grotesque."--Erin Morgenstern, author of The Night Circus "A masterful mash-up of Edgar Allan Poe and Jorge Luis Borges, with the added allure of gorgeous, demonically detailed drawings. I've never seen anything quite like The Resurrectionist, and I doubt that I will ever forget it."--Chase Novak, author of Breed "Fans of Neil Gaiman, Hieronymus Bosch, and the M�tter Museum are sure to love [The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work of Dr. Spencer Black] and the rest will certainly be both astounded and intrigued by what you find inside!"--The Garden Island

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Resurrectionist: The Lost Work and Writings of Dr. Spencer Black on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top