Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The River [Audio]
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

From the best-selling author of The Dog Stars, this is a masterful tale of wilderness survival in the vein of Into the Wild and The Call of the Wild. It is the story of two college friends on a wilderness canoe trip--a gripping tale of a friendship tested by fire, white water, and violence.

About the Author

PETER HELLER is the best-selling author of Celine, The Painter and The Dog Stars. He holds an MFA from the Iowa Writers' Workshop in both fiction and poetry. An award-winning adventure writer and a longtime contributor to NPR, Heller has been a contributing editor at Outside magazine, Men's Journal, and National Geographic Adventure, and a regular contributor to Bloomberg Businessweek. He is also the author of several nonfiction books, including Kook, The Whale Warriors, and Hell or High Water- Surviving Tibet's Tsangpo River. He lives in Denver, Colorado.

Reviews

"Utter joy... A suspenseful tale told with glorious drama and lyrical flair."
-Denise Mina, The New York Times Book Review

"Urgent, visceral writing--I couldn't turn the pages fast enough. A beautiful, heartrending exploration of male friendship."
-Clare Mackintosh, bestselling author of Let Me Lie

"[T]here is plenty of tension here, but where Heller really scores is the extraordinarily high quality of his writing about the natural world, which is lyrical and action-packed by turns."
-Laura Wilson, The Guardian "A fiery tour de force... [The River] recalls his debut, The Dog Stars, with its poetic, staccato sentences and masterfully crafted prose... And what a story he tells... I could not put this book down. It truly was terrifying and unutterably beautiful."
-Alison Borden, The Denver Post "[A] poetic and unnerving wilderness thriller... Full of rushing life and profound consequences. Every move Jack and Wynn make along the river has the chance to kill them or those they're trying to save, and the result is a novel that sweeps you away, each page filled with wonder and awe for a natural world we can quantify with science but can rarely predict with emotion."
-Tod Goldberg, USA Today "Heller puts his knowledge of canoeing and currents to fascinating use. He has created indelible characters in Wynn and Jack, pals who are almost exact opposites: the former a bearish galoot who's convinced that people are basically good, and the latter a pessimist who's convinced that their only hope for salvation is to paddle as fast as they can."
-Ross Gray, Minneapolis Star Tribune "Another superbly crafted adventure-action-mystery story... Reminiscent of James Dickey's classic Deliverance... The beat of Heller's novel builds to a furious pace."
-
John Newlin, New York Journal of Books "Engaging...satisfying... Terse and tight. Short, lyrical paragraphs are packed with action and keep the story moving along... Like a lot of backcountry missions, the most compelling parts of the story aren't necessarily the rapids or the high-risk moves. Instead they're the quiet moments where Wynn and Jack are coupling their rods together and wading slowly through vivid, tannic streams."
-Heather Hansman, Outside Magazine "It is a rare literary feat when an author is able to marry plot and prose with the soaring majesty that Heller achieves in The River."
-Drew Gallagher
, Fredericksburg Free Lance Star

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The River on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top