SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Robert Burns and Pastoral
By

Rating
Robert Burns and Pastoral is a full-scale reassessment of the writings of Robert Burns (1759-1796), arguably the most original poet writing in the British Isles between Pope and Blake, and the creator of the first modern vernacular style in British poetry. Although still celebrated as Scotland's national poet, Burns has long been marginalised in English literary studies worldwide, due to a mistaken view that his poetry is linguistically incomprehensible and of interest to Scottish readers only. Nigel Leask challenges this view by interpreting Burns's poetry as an innovative and critical engagement with the experience of rural modernity, namely to the revolutionary transformation of Scottish agriculture and society in the decades between 1760 and 1800, thereby resituating it within the mainstream of the Scottish and European enlightenments. Detailed study of the literary, social, and historical contexts of Burns's poetry explodes the myth of the 'Heaven-taught ploughman', revealing his poetic artfulness and critical acumen as a social observer, as well as his significance as a Romantic precursor. Leask discusses Burns's radical decision to write 'Scots pastoral' (rather than English georgic) poetry in the tradition of Allan Ramsay and Robert Fergusson, focusing on themes of Scottish and British identity, agricultural improvement, poetic self-fashioning, language, politics, religion, patronage, poverty, antiquarianism, and the animal world. The book offers fresh interpretations of all Burns's major poems and some of the songs, the first to do so since Thomas Crawford's landmark study of 1960. It concludes with a new assessment of his importance for British Romanticism and to a 'Four Nations' understanding of Scottish literature and culture.
Product Details

Table of Contents

INTRODUCTION: 'THE HEAVEN-TAUGHT PLOUGHMAN' ; 1. Burns and the 'New Husbandry' ; 2. Scots Pastoral ; 3. The Making of a Poet ; 4. Pastoral Politics ; 5. Beasties ; 6. Hellfire and Commonsense ; 7. The Annals of the Poor ; 8. The Deil and the Exciseman ; 9. Across the Shadow Line: Burns and British Romanticism ; BIBLIOGRAPHY ; INDEX

About the Author

Nigel Leask was appointed to Glasgow's Regius Chair of English Language and Literature in 2004, and is currently Head of the School of Critical Studies. He was previously Reader in Romantic Literature in the English Faculty at Cambridge University. He has published widely in the area of Romantic literature and culture, with a special emphasis on empire, orientalism, and travel writing, as well as Scottish literature and thought 1750-1850. His most recent book, Robert Burns and Pastoral: Poetry and Improvement in Late-18th Century Scotland (Oxford University Press, 2010) won the Saltire Prize for the best Scottish Research Book of 2010. He has also taught at the universities of Bologna and the UNAM, Mexico City. He is a Fellow of the British Academy and of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

Reviews

This excellent book on Robert Burns offers a rich new contribution to the cultural and intellectual history of the Scottish Enlightenment. * Fredrik Albritton Jonsson, Modern Philology * Burnss relationship with British Romanticism requires further attention, and Leasks book will surely become the focal point of that discussion for some years. * David Stewart, Jason Whittaker, and Christopher Machell, Years Work in English Studies * This is a wonderfully satisfying book - beautifully conceived and executed, intellectually challenging and enlightening, and a delight to read. * Susan Manning, Scottish Literary Review * Review from previous edition Hugely informative. * Fiona Stafford, BARS Bulletin 39 *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Robert Burns and Pastoral: Poetry and Improvement in Late Eighteenth-Century Scotland on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top