SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Ruby Lu, Star of the Show (Ruby Lu
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Lenore Look is the author of Ruby Lu, Brave and True, an ALA Notable Book; Love As Strong As Ginger, illustrated by Caldecott Honor artist Stephen T. Johnson; and Henry's First-Moon Birthday, illustrated by Yumi Heo. She lives in Randolph, New Jersey. Stef Choi is a debut children's book illustrator. She has worked as a character designer and illustrator in animation since 2002 at studios such as Disney, Cartoon Network, Nickelodeon, and LAIKA. She lives in a tree house in Portland, Oregon.

Reviews

Gr 1-3-In her latest appearance, Ruby is ready to take on third grade. That's when classrooms are in the big kids' hall, students get to join clubs, and everything is written in cursive. Ruby isn't quite comfortable with all of the changes; show-and-tell has disappeared, and she finds herself worried about her dog at home without her. These adjustments prove small once she learns that her dad has lost his job. Her already frugal family needs to make more cost-saving calibrations, and the child finds herself not knowing how to deal with an increasingly depressed, stay-at-home dad and a working mom. Her grades slip and she worries about her parents arguing at night. While experiencing the ups and downs that go along with unemployment, Ruby knows she can count on her friends and family. Choi joins the series, peppering the pages with illustrations of Ruby and her friends to make this a fun easy chapter book despite the heavier issues.-Stacy Dillon, LREI, New York City (c) Copyright 2011. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

"A fun easy chapter book despite the heavier issues."- School Library Journal
"Ruby is as effervescent and charming as ever."--Booklist
"Leavening the seriousness of her family's money worries is Ruby's Ramona-like talent for getting into trouble. (Young readers will think of Lilly and her purple plastic purse when Ruby's beloved third-grade teacher Mr. Yu sends home a letter about her bad grades--Ruby draws a picture of him being struck by lightning, then features him in a less-than-flattering haiku.) Ruby and her family, along with cousin Flying Duck and the rest of the 20th Avenue Plum Club, are as comfortably familiar--and entertaining--as ever." -The Horn Book
"Although the overall tone is lighthearted, Look provides some real insight into the struggles a family faces when its main breadwinner is out of work, and she resists providing an easy resolution. Fans of Sara Pennypacker's Clementine and Katy Kelly's Lucy Rose should definitely meet Ruby Lu." -Kirkus Reviews

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Ruby Lu, Star of the Show (Ruby Lu on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top