Australasia's Biggest Online Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Salty Snacks
By

Rating
This collection of 75 recipes for savory puffs, chips, crackers, breads, nuts, veggies and meats puts a fresh, crunchy spin on homemade snacks. Are you ready to take your love of salty snacks to the next level? This collection of seventy-five recipes for veggie chips, cheese straws, toasted nuts, pita chips, herb crackers, savory cookies, and snack mixes puts a fresh, crunchy spin on homemade nibbles. So broaden your horizons beyond microwave popcorn and bagged chips to include inventive snacks like Roasted Chickpeas with Sumac, Coconut Crisps with Basil and Chiles, Salami Chips with Grainy Mustard Dip, Stilton and Walnut Pinwheels, and more. Indeed, with all the excess sodium and hidden preservatives in prepackaged foods, it's smart as well as delicious to make your own savory bites from scratch. Nutritious offerings like Parsnip and Carrot Chips, gluten-free recipes like Cumin Lentil Crackers, and the option to customize the amount of added salt (or alternative spices and sprinklings) will appeal to snackers of every stripe. Perfect for cocktail parties, after-school snack time, or anytime you need a nosh, this collection's easy techniques and exotic flavors are sure to delight anyone with a "salty tooth."
Product Details

About the Author

CYNTHIA NIMS studied cooking at La Varenne Ecole de Cuisine and has authored or coauthored thirteen cookbooks, including Gourmet Game Night, Memorable Recipes, and Rover's. She is the former editor of Simply Seafood magazine and food editor for Seattle Magazine, and she contributes to Cooking Light, Coastal Living, and Sunset. She and her husband live in Seattle, Washington, and her blog, Mon Appetit, can be found at www.monappetit.com.

Reviews

"In the centuries-old squabble between sweet and salty, I've always sided with the latter and simply love this entire compendium. Cynthia Nims has created the definitive handbook to snackage perfectly tailored to the salty dog I am. Complete with history, definitions, and recipes, Salty Snacks is comprehensive, inventive, and destined for much use in the Batali kitchen."--Mario Batali, chef, author, and cohost of The Chew "As someone who gave up sugar for salt when I went to cooking school, I applaud the slant of this book. And it gets better--not only are these snacks salty, but they're also crunchy. So now you too can make your own chips, crackers, pretzels, and more. And the assortment of snacks is wildly creative; even vegetables and grains get dressed up in a snack suit. This book would be a perfect housewarming or holiday gift."--Sara Moulton, host of Sara's Weeknight Meals and author of the Sara's Kitchenapp In the centuries-old squabble between sweet and salty, I ve always sided with the latter and simply love this entire compendium. Cynthia Nims has created the definitive handbook to snackage perfectly tailored to the salty dog I am. Complete with history, definitions, and recipes, "Salty Snacks"is comprehensive, inventive, and destined for much use in the Batali kitchen. Mario Batali, chef, author, and cohost of"The Chew" As someone who gave up sugar for salt when I went to cooking school, I applaud the slant of this book. And it gets better not only are these snacks salty, but they re also crunchy. So now you too can make your own chips, crackers, pretzels, and more. And the"assortment"of snacks is wildly creative; even vegetables and grains get dressed up in a snack suit. This book would be a perfect housewarming or holiday gift. Sara Moulton, host of"Sara s Weeknight Meals"and author of the"Sara s Kitchen"app"

Continuing in the vein of Gourmet Game Night: Bite-Sized, Mess-Free Eating for Board-Game Parties, Bridge Clubs, Poker Nights, Book Groups, and More, food writer Nims (food editor, Seattle Magazine) offers 75 recipes for savory snacks ranging from easy (e.g., Salami Chips, Cheddar Ale Bread) to moderately laborious (e.g., Smoked Salmon with Ginger and Black Pepper, Olive Focaccia with Lemon). Upscale snacks are making a comeback, and Nims has included fashionable choices such as Kale Chips and gluten-free Cumin-Lentil Crackers. The book requires little special equipment, though a pasta roller helps. VERDICT Recommended for modern hosts and entertainers. For nostalgic or wholesome alternatives, try Lara Ferroni's forthcoming Real Snacks: Make Your Favorite Childhood Treats Without All the Junk or Sally Sampson's 100-Calorie Snack Cookbook. (c) Copyright 2012. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Salty Snacks: Make Your Own Chips, Crisps, Crackers, Pretzels, Dips, and Other Savory Bites on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top