Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Withthe outbreak of the American Revolution, Abigail Lovell's family is torn apart while her schoolmaster father is an outspoken loyalist, she and her two brothers engage in acts of espionage to undermine the British in Boston. Her sickly older brother, James, operates the patriots' spy ring. Abigail acts as a courier, eluding increasingly aggressive British patrols and her younger brother, Benjamin, slips out of Boston to fight alongside Abigail s love, Ezra, in the battles at Lexington and Concord. With the help of her friend, Rachel Revere, Abigail smuggles money and supplies out to her brother, Ezra and Rachel s brother, Paul.

Butwhen a British sergeant is found murdered, Abigail stands accused and, in possession of valuable intercepted information, she now must fight tosave herself and those she loves. In the tradition of Rose and Girl with the Pearl Earring, The Schoolmaster s Daughter is the story of a family torn asunder and a determined young woman who makes courageous sacrifices for her country.

Product Details

About the Author

John Smolens is author of Cold, The Invisible World, Fire Point, and The Anarchist. He received his MFA from the University of Iowa in 1984 and is currently head of the MFA program at Northern Michigan University. His novel The Schoolmaster's Daughter will be published by Pegasus Books in paperback in September, 2012. You can visit his site at www.johnsmolens.com.

Reviews

"John Smolens has written a historical novel with the quick-beating heart of a thriller. Written in crisp, cinematic prose, the novel has echoes of the best noir." -- Dan Chaon, author of Await Your Reply&l "A fine writer with a profound knowledge of human behavior gone awry." -- Jim Harrison, author of Legends of the "Smolens has written an intelligent, first-rate thriller, as though Sinclair Lewis was fused with Alan Furst." -- Tom Bissell, author of The Father of Al

How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Schoolmaster's Daughter: A Novel of the American Revolution on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top