Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Secret Between Us
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

As one lie forces another lie, a life falls apart in this stunning novel from bestselling author Barbara Delinsky. / Barbara Delinsky is a bestselling author published in twenty-five languages across the world. / Perfect for fans of Jodi Picoult. / Competition: Jodi Picoult

About the Author

Barbara Delinsky grew up in suburban Boston, US. A master of emotional intensity, she touches the minds and hearts of her readers with intricately woven stories of domestic drama and relationships. Her books regularly appear on the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, and USA Today Bestseller Lists.

Reviews

This secret is between teenaged Grace Monroe, who accidentally mowed down a stranger while driving home from a party, and her mom, who insists on taking the rap. With a reading group guide. Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Praise for 'The Family Tree': 'Delinsky's writing is fluid and makes for a hard-to-put down book as she deftly blends tense family drama with heavy political issues' Glamour '...a sensitive exploration of the prejudices that many hold but few express...a page turner that asks serious questions about America's relationship with its past' The Times 'Fans of Jodi Picoult will love this...a poignant family story' Daily Express 'A really interesting and sometimes harrowing tale that makes compelling reading.' Sun Praise for 'The Family Tree': 'Delinsky writes with insight about complex family matters, and here adds thought-provoking concerns about race in America in a novel that will stir debate and inspire self-examination.' Booklist 'Delinsky smoothly challenges characters and readers alike to confront their hidden hypocrises (while getting) the political and personal dynamics just right.' Publishers Weekly 'Delinsky admirably allows her characters to acknowledge and correct their biases. Fail-safe delivery of an issues-packed story.' Kirkus Reviews '"The Family Tree" is warm, rich, textured, and impossible to put down.' Nora Roberts, author of 'Valley of Silence Praise for Barbara Delinsky: 'Delinsky delves deeper into the human heart and spirit with each new novel' The Inquirer 'Delinsky excels at!insightful portrayal[s] of captivating people facing challenges both ordinary and dramatic' Booklist

Relationships are brought to the limit in Delinsky's splendid latest exploration of family dynamics. On a rainy night, Deborah Monroe and her teenage daughter, Grace, are driving home when their car hits a man. The victim, who turns out to be Grace's history teacher, is unconscious but alive. Although Grace was driving, Deborah sends her home and takes responsibility for the accident when the cops show up. Deborah is juggling a lot: as a family doctor, she is in private practice with her uber-demanding widower father, who is trying to hide a drinking problem; her son, Dylan, is vision impaired; her mother's death continues to affect the family; Deborah is still dealing with her ex-husband's new, separate life; and her unmarried sister, Jill, has just announced she's pregnant. Grace's guilt about not taking responsibility for the accident makes her withdraw from friends and family, and the accident victim turns out to have a more complex private life than anyone imagined. The author seamlessly resolves relationship issues without sentiment, throws in a promising romance for Deborah and offers a redemptive scene between Grace and her grandfather. Delinsky combines her understanding of human nature with absorbing, unpredictable storytelling-a winning combination. (Jan.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Adult/High School-Secrets, responsibilities, truths, lies, and justice are some of the issues woven into this story, which begins with Deborah Monroe and her daughter, Grace, driving home in the rain. They are arguing and Grace is at the wheel when out of nowhere a man appears and she hits him. Deborah immediately decides to take responsibility for the accident and sends Grace running home. Being a doctor, she quickly checks for vitals and waits for the police and EMTs. When they arrive, Dr. Monroe answers all their questions and, although she never really lies, she does neglect to tell the sheriff that it was Grace who was driving. Her lies continue as she lets the entire close-knit community and her family believe that she was responsible for the accident. Grace suffers for her mother's well-intended lie, and circumstances become more complicated when the victim is identified as her history teacher. As the investigation gets underway, it is discovered that Mr. McKenna's life wasn't all it appeared to be. As the story continues, readers meet more people whose lives and secrets are exposed. This novel will have teens considering their own moral compass and asking just how honest, dishonest, and secretive anyone can be.-Joanne Ligamari, Rio Linda School District, Sacramento, CA Copyright 2008 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Secret Between Us on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top