Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The Senator's Wife
By

Rating
New or Used: 2 copies from $8.90
Product Details

Promotional Information

A commercial success in America, The Senator's Wife appeared on the bestseller lists across the country, including the New York Times bestseller list (highest position was number 7) While I Was Gone has been re-jacketed with a companion look to support the launch of The Senator's Wife in paperback. For fans of Anne Tyler and Julie Myerson

About the Author

Sue Miller was born in Chicago in 1943. She is the bestselling author of eight previous novels including The Good Mother, While I Was Gone, The Distinguished Guest and Lost in the Forest, and of the acclaimed memoir The Story of My Father. She serves as the chair of PEN, New England. Sue Miller lives in Boston, Massachusetts.

Reviews

Just married and pregnant, Meri Fowler forges a bond with Delia Naughton, whose senator husband is a notorious runaround. With an 11-city tour; reading group guide. Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

'An incredible story of the dangers of trying to live lives through others. Perfect book-club material' Easy Living 'Shock, deceit, desire and despair come together at once in a way that feels simply like fate ... A clever storyteller with a penchant for the unexpected' New York Times 'A complex, rich, haunting novel of marital love and its complications' Woman & Home 'This addictive read had me biting my lip with foreboding' Eve

Bestselling author Miller (The Good Mother; When I Was Gone) returns with a rich, emotionally urgent novel of two women at opposite stages of life who face parallel dilemmas. Meri, the young, sexy wife of a charismatic professor, occupies one wing of a New England house with her husband. An unexpected pregnancy forces her to reassess her marriage and her childhood of neglect. Delia, her elegant neighbor in the opposite wing, is the long-suffering wife of a notoriously philandering retired senator. The couple have stayed together for his career and still share an occasional, deeply intense tryst. The women's routines continue on either side of the wall that divides their homes, and the two begin to flit back and forth across the porch and into each others physical and psychological spaces. A steady tension builds to a bruising denouement. The clash, predicated on Delia's husband's compulsive behavior and on Meri's lack of boundaries, feels too preordained. But Miller's incisive portrait of the complex inner lives of her characters and her sharp manner of taking them through conflicts make for an intense read. (Jan.) Copyright 2007 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Senator's Wife on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top