Download the Free Fishpond App!
Download on the App Store

Android App on Google play
The Shadow Rising: Book 4 of the Wheel of Time (Wheel of Time)

Already own it?

Sell Yours
Home » Books » Fiction & Literature » Fantasy » General

The Shadow Rising

Book 4 of the Wheel of Time (Wheel of Time)

By Robert Jordan

Free shipping Australia wide
Condition: Acceptable
Ships within: 3-7 days
New or Used: 6 copies from $10.99
Order now for Christmas delivery
Register or sign-in to rate and get recommendations.
Format: Paperback, 1056 pages
Other Information: maps
Published In: United Kingdom, 01 April 1993
The fourth book in Robert Jordan's internationally bestselling epic fantasy series, THE WHEEL OF TIME, now reissued with a stunning new cover design. The Stone of Tear, invulnerable fortress of legend, has fallen. The Children of the Dragon have risen to the call of prophecy and march to the aid of the Light. Callandor, the Sword That Is Not a Sword, is held by Rand al' Thor, the man proclaimed as the Dragon Reborn. But still the shadows lengthen and still the Forsaken grow in strength. If he is to fight them, Rand must master the male half of the True Source, a power corrupted by the Dark One, a power that drives men to madness, a power that may save or damn the world. Find out more about this title and others at

Promotional Information

With The Wheel of Time, Jordan has come to dominate the world Tolkien began to reveal' THE NEW YORK TIMES

About the Author

Robert Jordan was born in 1948 in Charleston. He was a graduate of the Citadel, the Military College of South Carolina, with a degree in physics, and served 2 tours in Vietnam. His hobbies inc. hunting, fishing, sailing, poker, chess, pool and pipe collecting. He died in September 2007.


As the power of the Dark One grows stronger, Rand al'Thor and his friends face greater challenges in their war against the Shadow. From the halls of Tar Valon, where the Aes Sedai mystics discover agents of darkness in their own ranks, to the Aiel Waste, where a hidden city holds secrets forbidden to all but a few, Rand and his companions seek to fulfill the destiny laid out for them. Jordan's multivolume epic continues to live up to its high ambitions. Complex plotting, an array of strong characters, lavish detail, and a panoramic scope make this series a feast for fantasy aficionados. Expect demand for this.

'Epic in every sense' THE TIMES 'On very rare occasions, very talented storytellers create worlds that are beyond fantasy; worlds that become realities. Robert Jordan has' MORGAN LLYWELYN 'A powerful vision of good and evil' ORSON SCOTT CARD

Having declared himself the Dragon Reborn, Rand al'Thorspacing correct must proceed to fulfill the prophecy that he will protect the world from the return of the Dark One. Jordan's hefty addition to his massive series begins very much in medias res as an unknown danger threatens the city of Tar Valon, home of the powerful, nunlike Aes Sedai. In a whirlwind of uncertainty stirred up by the conflicting motivations of such groups as the Whitecloaks, the Darkfriends and Trollocs (among an abundance of others), Rand travels to the city of Rhuidean in the Aiel Waste for answers. Jordan ( The Dragon Reborn ) seems to be intent on turning the series into an endless soap opera; in each successive volume he introduces more new elements than he resolves. What was originally a mood-setting technique--the tendency of most characters not to share their special knowledge with either their companions or the reader--has by now become boring. Hundreds of characters and dozens of conflicting plots cause much of the action to take place offstage. As a result, this fully imagined saga threatens to burst the seams of its steadily more intricate design. Nevertheless, the sheer force of his invention develops a momentum that established Jordan fans, and probably like-minded new readers, will find hard to resist. (Nov.)

EAN: 9781857231212
ISBN: 185723121X
Publisher: Orbit
Dimensions: 17.7 x 10.9 x 4.6 centimetres (0.38 kg)
Age Range: 15+ years
Tell a friend

Their Email:

Sell Yours

Already own this item?
Sell Yours and earn some cash. It's fast and free to list! (Learn More.)

2 review(s)
All Reviews
Rahul on
Wow. Action, adventure, romance, mystery, humor - this book (and the entire series) has it all. I can't even begin to describe it. I love these books so much, when I'm not reading one I go through a sort of depression, in which the world around me seems drab and dull...until I pick up the next Wheel of Time book. Jordan describes everything so well, making the land rich in detail AND history/lore. You can picture the great White Tower of Tar Valon, and this image also brings to mind the history and current affairs of the's just amazing. I've heard that Robert Jordan made ten pages of notes for each country in the Wheel of Time...and it shows! All the history is very consistent, and believable. But, don't get the idea that it bogs the books down - it's just the opposite. It makes the land much more believable and enjoyable.
Customer on
Robert Jordon created an interesting and intricate world, which really drew me in. The charactors were really interesting. It is a pity that he drew the story out over so many books as by book 6 the series has lost it's momentum and the charactors begin to loose their individuality. In particular the girls blend together. Book 4 (this book) is still worth reading.

Review this Product


Related Searches


Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners

You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Shadow Rising: Book 4 of the Wheel of Time (Wheel of Time) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep!



Are you the Author/Publisher? Improve sales by submitting additional information on this title.