How does Fishpond Work?

Turn your Clutter Into Cash with SmartSell.TM Book a Courier Pickup Today!

The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester which stars James Norton as Sidney Chambers. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton. It is May 1971 and the Cambridgeshire countryside is bursting into summer. Archdeacon Sidney Chambers is walking in a bluebell wood with his daughter Anna and their ageing Labrador Byron when they stumble upon a body. Plunged into another murder investigation, Sidney discovers a world of hippies and psychedelic plants, where permissive behaviour seems to hide something darker. This is the first of many disturbing secrets that Sidney unearths beneath the tranquil surface of the diocese: a celebrated photographer is accused of rape; a priceless religious text vanishes from a Cambridge college; the authentication of a lost masterpiece proves a slippery business; and Sidney's own nephew goes missing. Endeavouring to fit in his clerical duties around sleuthing, Sidney continues to reflect on the divine mysteries of love, life and faith, while wrestling with the earthly problems of parish scandals, a progressive new secretary, the challenges of parenthood, and a great loss.
Product Details

Promotional Information

The sixth book in the James Runcie's much-loved series, adapted for ITV's Grantchester starring James Norton, sees full-time priest, part-time detective Sidney Chambers plunged back into sleuthing when he discovers a body in a bluebell wood. Perfect for fans of M. C. Beaton.

About the Author

James Runcie is an award-winning film-maker and the author of nine previous novels. Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love is the sixth book in `The Grantchester Mysteries' series, which began in 2012 with Sidney Chambers and The Shadow of Death. In October 2014, ITV launched Grantchester, a prime-time series starring James Norton as Sidney Chambers. The second season aired in spring 2016 and the third in spring 2017. James Runcie is Commissioning Editor for Arts at BBC Radio 4. He lives in London and Edinburgh. www.jamesruncie.com www.grantchestermysteries.com @james_runcie

Reviews

Perfect reading for a sunny English garden -- Kate Saunders * The Times * There is no denying the winning charm of these artfully fashioned mysteries -- Barry Forshaw * Independent * Beautifully crafted and surprising -- A. N. Wilson * Spectator * A perfect accompaniment to a sunny afternoon, a hammock and a glass of Pimm's * Guardian * Alexander McCall Smith's Mma Ramotswe is going to have to look to her laurels! Sidney Chambers's adventures are thoroughly captivating and engaging -- Amanda Craig, author of Hearts and Minds No detective since Father Brown has been more engaging than Canon Sidney Chambers. Perfect company in bed -- Salley Vickers There is no reason at all why this series should not run and run and why Sidney Chambers should not occupy the same place in the pantheon as Miss Marple or Poirot * Catholic Herald * As a writer unafraid to delve into the human predicament, James Runcie is pitching triumphantly above the parapet of conventional crime -- Barry Turner * Daily Mail *

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Sidney Chambers and The Persistence of Love (Grantchester) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top