Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Snowblind
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Author of the bestselling Dark Iceland crime series, Ragnar Jonasson was born in Reykjavik, Iceland, in 1976 and works as a lawyer. He also teaches copyright law at Reykjavik University and has previously worked on radio and television, including as a TV-news reporter for the Icelandic National Broadcasting Service. Before becoming a writer, Ragnar translated 14 Agatha Christie novels into Icelandic, and has had short stories published in international literary magazines. Ragnar is a member of the UK Crime Writers' Association (CWA) and recently set up the first overseas chapter of the CWA, in Reykjavik. He is also the co-founder of the Reykjavik international crime writing festival Iceland Noir (www.icelandnoir.com), which was selected by the Guardian as one of the 'best crime-writing festivals around the world'. Ragnar has appeared on panels at festivals worldwide, and he lives in Reykjavik with his wife and daughter.

Reviews

'Ragnar Jonasson writes with a chilling, poetic beauty - a must-read addition to the growing canon of Iceland Noir' Peter James; 'Seductive ... an old-fashioned murder mystery with a strong central character and the fascinating background of a small Icelandic town cut off by snow. Ragnar does claustrophobia beautifully' Ann Cleeves; 'Ragnar Jonasson's Snowblind is as dazzling a novel as its title implies and the wonderful Ari Thor is a welcome addition to the pantheon of Scandinavian detectives. I can't wait until the sequel!' William Ryan; 'A truly chilling debut, perfect for fans of Karin Fossum and Henning Mankell' Eva Dolan; 'An isolated community, subtle clueing, clever mis-direction and more than a few surprises combine to give a modern day Golden Age whodunnit. Well Done! I look forward to the next in the series' John Curran; 'Snowblind brings you the chill of a snowbound Icelandic fishing village cut off from the outside world, and the warmth of a really well-crafted and translated murder mystery' Michael Ridpath; 'The complex characters and absorbing plot make Snowblind memorable. Its setting - Siglufjordur, a small fishing village isolated in the depths of an Icelandic winter - makes it unforgettable. Let's hope that more of this Icelandic author's work will be translated' Sandra Balzo; 'In Ari Thor Arason, Nordic Noir has a new hero as compelling and interesting as the Northern Icelandic setting' Nick Quantrill; 'This has all the ingredients - a young policeman, a girlfriend left behind, murders both old and new for solving together with the intertwining of relationships within a small community as it goes through a snowbound dark winter. An absorbing read and one I didn't put down' Thinking of You and Me; 'If a Golden Age crime novel was to emerge from a literary deep freeze then you'd hope it would read like this. Jonasson cleverly squeezes this small, isolated town in northern Iceland until it is hard to breathe, ensuring the setting is as claustrophobic as any locked room. If you call your book "Snowblind" then you better make sure it's chilling. He does.' Craig Robertson; 'If Arnaldur is the King and Yrsa the Queen of Icelandic crime fiction, then Ragnar is surely the Crown Prince ... more please!' Karen Meek, EuroCrime; 'Ragnar Jonasson brilliantly evokes the claustrophobia of small-town Iceland in this intriguing murder mystery. Let's hope this is the first of many translations by Quentin Bates' Zoe Sharp; 'Ragnar Jonasson is simply brilliant at planting a hook and using the magic of a dark Icelandic winter to reel in the story. Snowblind screams isolation and darkness in an exploration of the basic Icelandic nature with all its attendant contrasts and extremes, amid a plot filled with twists, turns, and one surprise after another' Jeffrey Siger; 'A chilling, thrilling slice of Icelandic Noir' Thomas Enger; 'A stunning murder mystery set in the northernmost town in Iceland, written by one of the country's finest crime writers. Ragnar has Nordic Noir down pat - a remote small-town mystery that is sure to please crime fiction aficionados' Yrsa Sigurdardottir; 'Snowblind is a brilliantly crafted crime story that gradually unravels old secrets in a small Icelandic town ... an excellent debut from a talented Icelandic author. I can't wait to read more' Sarah Ward; 'Is King Arnaldur Indridason looking to his laurels? There is a young pretender beavering away, his eye on the crown: Ragnar Jonasson ...' Barry Forshaw; 'An intricately plotted crime novel, Snowblind is a remarkable debut. Ragnar Jonasson has delivered an intelligent whodunnit that updates, stretches, and redefines the locked-room mystery format. A tense and thrilling book that paints a vivid portrait of a remote town in long-term decline, facing the chilling aftershocks of the global financial meltdown. The author's cool clean prose constructs atmospheric word pictures that recreate the harshness of an Icelandic winter in the reader's mind. Destined to be an instant classic' EuroDrama;'Snowblind is a beautifully written thriller, as tense as it is terrifying - Jonasson is a writer with a big future' Luca Vest

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Snowblind on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top