COVID-19 Response at

Read what we're doing...

The Spindle Tree


Product Description
Product Details

Table of Contents

Part One: The Travelling Show Chapter 1: August 1962 Chapter 2: The Harvest Chapter 3: Meg Chapter 4: A Night of Melodrama Chapter 5: The Dance Chapter 6: The Flicks Chapter 7: The Promise Chapter 8: Confrontation Chapter 9: Departure Chapter 10: The Sally Army Chapter 11: The Long Night Chapter 12: Packy's idea Part 2: The Mausoleum Chapter 13: Night Journey Chapter 14: An Angel returns Chapter 15: Meg's Story Chapter 16: The drama begins Chapter 17: Mad Mary Strikes Chapter 18: Birth Chapter 19: Fr Doyle's Concerns Chapter 20: Sunday Mass Chapter 21: Sean Chapter 22: Mr Thomas Chapter 23: Merry Christmas Sergeant Greene Chapter 24: Eileen Chapter 25: Christmas 1962 Chapter 26: `The Wren! The Wren!' Chapter 27: Walking Back to Happiness Part Three: Snow Chapter 28: The Fender Chapter 29: Cars and Trains Chapter 30: The Snowstorm Chapter 31: Happy New Year Chapter 32: Snowball Fight Chapter 33: The Telephone Call Chapter 34: A Letter from Glasgow Chapter 35: The New Master Part Four: Convalescence Chapter 36: John's Return Chapter 37: Let her rest in peace Chapter 38: Sarah the thief Chapter 39: Meg's departure Chapter 40: In the doldrums Chapter 41: Joe's Shiner Chapter 42: The Decision Chapter 43: All's well in love and war Chapter 44: Thinking of nice things Chapter 45: Easter 1963 Chapter 46: The Sweetheart I once knew Part Five: The Lake Chapter 47: Measles and Nursemaids Chapter 48: The Fishing Trip Chapter 49: A Great Big House of Cards Chapter 50: Departures Chapter 51: Moving on Part Six: The Return Chapter 52: `I will care for you for the rest of my life.' Chapter 53: The Return Chapter 54: The Funeral Chapter 55: Pat's Story Chapter 56: Requiescat in Pace Epilogue

About the Author

Danny Dunne is a historian and retired School Principal from Mullingar, Co. Westmeath. He has ten books to his credit including, The Little Silver Bell (1995), a book of poetry Along the Gravel Road (1996) and compiling and editing eight books documenting the local history of communities in the Mullingar area. He is married to Betty and they have three adult children.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Spindle Tree: A Story of Lost Childhood and Redemption in the Irish Midlands on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top