Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

The Sting of Justice
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Cora Harrison worked as a headteacher before she decided to write her first novel. She has since published twenty-six children's historical novels. My Lady Judge was the first in her Burren series. Cora lives on a farm near the Burren in the west of Ireland. Visit her website at www.coraharrison.com

Reviews

It's 1509 in western Ireland, and Mara O'Davoren, Brehon (our equivalent of a judge) of the Burren, is attending the funeral of a local priest when Sorley, a silversmith and the wealthiest man in the region, is killed by multiple bee stings. Following a few clues left at the scene and investigating a rich array of possible suspects, Mara brings the case to a satisfactory conclusion with the help of her capable law students. -VERDICT With her third series title (after A Secret and Unlawful Killing), Irish author Harrison is a writer to watch. Her depictions of 16th-century Ireland and little-known Celtic law are thoroughly researched and beautifully presented. For fans of Peter Tremayne's Sister Fidelma series and readers who love Sharon Kay Penman and Philippa Gregory. Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

Harrison's stellar third novel set in the Irish kingdom of Burren (after 2008's A Secret and Unlawful Killing) blends a fair-play murder puzzle with a convincing portrayal of early 16th-century Ireland. Series heroine Mara, the region's brehon (or judge), is responsible for maintaining law and order and for running the local law school. While attending the funeral mass for a beloved local priest, Mara discovers the body of Sorley Skerrett, one of the richest men in the area, who owns a silver mine. Skerrett, who was allergic to bee stings, died as a result of being stung by a swarm of the insects. Despite appearances, Mara believes the death was a homicide and enlists her eager students to aid her in interviewing the many suspects, who include the victim's ex-wife, the son he disinherited and others wronged by his unscrupulous business dealings. Ellis Peters and Peter Tremayne fans who have yet to discover Harrison will be overjoyed. (Dec.) Copyright 2009 Reed Business Information.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
This title is unavailable for purchase as none of our regular suppliers have stock available. If you are the publisher, author or distributor for this item, please visit this link.
Back to top