COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

The Story of Arthur Truluv [Large Print]
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Elizabeth Berg is the author of many bestselling novels, including Open House (an Oprah's Book Club selection), Talk Before Sleep, and The Year of Pleasures, as well as the short story collection The Day I Ate Whatever I Wanted. Durable Goods and Joy School were selected as ALA Best Books of the Year. She adapted The Pull of the Moon into a play that enjoyed sold-out performances in Chicago and Indianapolis. Berg's work has been translated into twenty-seven languages, and three of her novels have been turned into television movies. She is the founder of Writing Matters, a quality reading series dedicated to serving author, audience, and community. She teaches one-day writing workshops and is a popular speaker at venues around the country. Some of her most popular Facebook postings have been collected in Make Someone Happy. She lives outside Chicago.

Reviews

"For several days after [finishing The Story of Arthur Truluv], I felt lifted by it, and I found myself telling friends, also feeling overwhelmed by 2017, about the book. Read this, I said, it will offer some balance to all that has happened, and it is a welcome reminder we're all neighbors here."--Chicago Tribune

"Not since Paul Zindel's classic The Pigman have we seen such a unique bond between people who might not look twice at each other in real life. This small, mighty novel offers proof that they should."--People, Book of the Week "Charming . . . Truluv is a novel for these contentious times. We could all use a bit of Arthur's ego-free understanding and forgiveness of fellow human beings. When the inevitable happens in this heartwarming novel, good luck convincing yourself that the lump in your throat is just a sympathy response to one of Gordon [the cat]'s hairballs."--USA Today "I thoroughly enjoyed hanging out with these lovable people in [Elizabeth] Berg's world of unabashed optimism. Sometimes that's just what's needed."--Minneapolis Star Tribune "Berg is always good, but this novel is so, so good. I could not put it down. It's so beautiful about people and life."--Publishers Weekly "The sweet, sentimental tale of an elderly man and a teenager coming into each other's lives at just the right moment . . . In the vein of Fannie Flagg, this life-affirming story is a definite choice for Berg's many fans and anyone looking for a little break from the darker novels that have been so popular lately."--Library Journal "Fans of Meg Wolitzer, Emma Straub, or [Elizabeth] Berg's previous novels will appreciate the richly complex characters and clear prose. Redemptive without being maudlin, this story of two misfits lucky to have found one another will tug at readers' heartstrings."--Booklist "Elizabeth Berg's characters jump right off the page and into your heart. I dare you to read this novel and not fall in love with Arthur Truluv. His story will make you laugh and cry, and will show you a love that never ends, and what it means to be truly human."--Fannie Flagg, author of The Whole Town's Talking "I don't know if I've ever read a more affecting book about the natural affinity between the young and the elderly than Elizabeth Berg's The Story of Arthur Truluv. It makes the rest of us--strivers and preeners and malcontents--seem almost irrelevant."--Richard Russo, author of Everybody's Fool "Elizabeth Berg reminds us of both the richness of any human life and the heart's needed resilience."--Jane Hirshfield, author of The Beauty: Poems

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling The Story of Arthur Truluv on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top