COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Strange Harvests
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A global exploration of how we harvest and exploit the world's natural bounty - from edible birds' nests to sea silk - Strange Harvests is perfect for readers of Robert Macfarlane and Andrea Wulf

About the Author

Edward Posnett was born in London and studied at Cambridge and Oxford before working in the City in financial investigations.Shortly after leaving financial services, he learnt about the Icelandic tradition of eiderdown harvesting in which farmers offer protection to wild sea ducks in return for their valuable lightweight down. Enchanted by its promise of symbiosis and cooperation, he travelled to Iceland and wrote an account of the trade, 'Eiderdown', which won The Bodley Head/Financial Times Essay Prize. His first book, Harvest, builds on this essay, introducing the reader to small harvests around the globe through the stories of seven wondrous objects that can be held in the hand.He lives in Philadelphia and is a keen linguist, swimmer and amateur potter.

Reviews

Edward Posnett has written an exceptional first book; Harvest is a subtle, fascinating braiding of travel, cultural and natural history, ethnography and economic analysis; a modern-day Wunderkammer with echoes of Pico Iyer as well as Sir Thomas Browne.
Clear-eyed but never blithe, Posnett records the destructiveness of market rapacity as well as rare, hopeful examples of human and more-than-human harmony. It is a pleasure and an education to journey with him in these pages -- Robert Macfarlane
A truly remarkable debut, weird, inquisitive and swarming with memorable characters -- John Carey * Sunday Times *
A beautiful exploration of our fraught connections with other species. With seemingly boundless curiosity, Posnett invites us on journeys through the surprising webs created by international trade. Uniting these stories from around the world are essential questions for our time: Is a balance between humans and the rest of nature possible? Or do we inevitably destroy what we harvest and desire? Full of surprise, delight, and horror, these lively tales illuminate and captivate -- David George Haskell, author of The Songs of Trees and The Forest Unseen
Harvest opens a wondrous cabinet of curiosities. Posnett engages the reader sensually, intellectually, and poetically. The great gift of this book is that it inspires us to look with new depth into the varied stuff of life, and with this widened perspective, attempt to act with care, grace, intelligence, and joy. An original and bracing read. -- Lyanda Lynn Haupt, author of Mozart's Starling
Posnett moves from one example to another with moral precision, wryness and a refusal to be discouraged. Stories build subtly and sometimes with sudden drama; all are entangled in complex political, cultural and ecological circumstances -- Jake Kerridge * Guardian *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Strange Harvests: The Hidden Histories of Seven Natural Objects on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top