COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Tamed
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

Ten species that changed our world...

For readers of Yuval Noah Harari's Sapiens, Alice Roberts's groundbreaking new book, Tamed, reveals how taming our most important animals and plants changed these species - and us - forever.

About the Author

Alice Roberts is an anthropologist, writer and broadcaster, and is currently Professor of Public Engagement in Science at the University of Birmingham. She has presented several landmark BBC series including The Incredible Human Journey, Origins of Us, Coast and The Celts. Her latest book on evolutionary biology, The Incredible Unlikeliness of Being, was shortlisted for the Wellcome Trust Book Prize in 2015.

www.alice-roberts.co.uk

Reviews

A masterpiece of evocative scientific storytelling. -- BRIAN COX
Epic and joyous, a landmark in the story of us. -- Adam Rutherford
Two recent pioneers of the history of humanity are Jared Diamond, author of Guns, Germs and Steel, and Yuval Noah Harari, in his book Sapiens. It is a teeming subject, about which Roberts is multiply qualified to write, as an anatomist, archaeologist, anthropologist, paleopathologist and professor of public engagement in science. Roberts remains composed, engaging and undogmatic throughout... Tamed is an excellent point of entry for anyone who wants to understand the new deep human history and what it portends. -- Peter Forbes * Guardian *
[A] lively work of popular scientific history, in which [Roberts] looks at 10 species that have become part of our everyday existence ... illuminating facts, Roberts is an informed guide to the oddities that have made the world what it is today. * Observer *
Tamed may be the title of Alice Roberts' latest book, but the writing is anything but tame. Lyrical storytelling untangles the current thinking on how we've entwined our lives with those of plants and animals. From dogs to apples to potatoes to chickens, Roberts provides fascinating insights into domestication, offering anecdotes from past and present that link genetic and archaeological findings. -- Liz Kalaugher * 'Book of the Month', BBC Wildlife Magazine *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » Science » Biology » General
Home » Books » Science » Biology » Zoology » General
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Tamed: Ten Species That Changed Our World on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top