Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3)
By

Rating
A dark, compelling Marnie Rome novel, rich with psychological insight, from the winner of the Theakston's Crime Novel of the Year. For readers of Clare Mackintosh and Alex Marwood. 'Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity' Cath Staincliffe The fragile young girl who causes the fatal car crash disappears from the scene. A runaway who doesn't want to be found, she only wants to return to the man who understands her and offers her warmth, comfort, a home. He gives her shelter. Just as he gives shelter to the other lost girls who live in his house. D.I. Marnie Rome thinks that she knows families, their secrets and their fault lines. But as she begins investigating the girl's disappearance nothing can prepare her for what she's about to face.
Product Details

About the Author

Sarah Hilary's debut novel SOMEONE ELSE'S SKIN won the Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year 2015. It was the Observer's Book of the Month ('superbly disturbing'), a Richard & Judy Book Club bestseller, and has been published worldwide. NO OTHER DARKNESS and TASTES LIKE FEAR continue the DI Marnie Rome series with QUIETER THAN KILLING to follow in early 2017. Sarah lives in Bath.

Reviews

I finished it today and it's completely brilliant, complex, thrilling, brutal, tender, scary and intriguing. What a great book. The pacing is superb, the plot is compelling, the characters are so well drawn. The ending is ingenious -- Richard Jones of Bristol Review of Books It has such pace and force. It's very disturbing and builds up to a terrific climax -- Helen Dunmore It's written with the verve and assurance of a future star and deserves to be a big hit -- Steven Dunne Intelligently and fluently written with a clever plot and an energetic pace, dealing with harrowing topics and shot through with humanity, I think Sarah's onto a winning series and I really look forward to reading the next instalment -- Cath Staincliffe I think it must be one of the debut novels of next year, if not THE debut novel... (It will be if there is any justice in the world!) -- Caro Ramsay It's meaty, dark and terrifying. Unflinchingly violent and beautifully big-hearted in equal measure. And Sarah's writing is glorious - she tells us things in new ways, gives us a fully fleshed, sensual world to inhabit for the novel -- Julia Crouch Mixing a strong sense of social justice with carefully crafted characters and an interesting plot, this is a powerful piece of crime writing that builds to an emotionally charged conclusion * Sydney Herald * A truly chilling exploration of control, submission and the desire to step out of a normal life -- Eva Dolan A tense, terrifying tale of obsession and possession . . . a writer at the top of her game -- Alison Graham * Radio Times * Brilliant. I put everything else aside when I have one of her books in the house -- Alex Marwood Yet again the author proves herself to be among the leaders of contemporary British crime fiction * For Winter Nights blog * Tastes Like Fear is every bit as assured and involving as its two predecessors, and Hilary is a writer who is clearly here to stay * Crime Time * A tautly conceived story that will grab you from the first page and refuse to let go until the last * CrimeSquad * It is devious, dark, deliciously chilling. A formidable addition to an accomplished series that just keeps getting better and better * Never Imitate blog * I cannot recommend this book highly enough * Live and Deadly blog * Fast-paced, tightly plotted and well-written * The Bath Magazine * Tastes Like Fear is a triumph; brutal, honest and quite brilliant * Random Things Through My Letterbox blog * A masterclass in pace and plot * Joanne Sheppard blog * Tastes Like Fear is an extraordinary depiction of psychological and economic violence that is genuinely chilling * Pam Reader blog * Tastes Like Fear is quality intelligent crime, with enough twists to keep you glued to the page and a massive dose of terrifying anticipation * Northern Crime blog * Writes with an effortless ease and fervour that displays what an accomplished writer she is * Crimespree magazine * Hilary's depiction of 13-year-old Laura Beswick, Loz, is heartbreaking and convincing. This pacy, easy-reading novel is lifted by its perceptive examination of the distress of girls who don't believe they fit their allotted space in the world and the agony of the parents who try to make them understand how deeply they are loved -- N. J. Cooper Highly compelling and atmospheric... the storyline and characters involved me completely, from the very first -- Kate Rhodes Marnie goes from strength to strength... this one drips with the gritty, dirty, danger of the urban wastelands around the river -- Julia Crouch One of Britain's best new crime writers * Daily Mail *

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Tastes Like Fear (D.I. Marnie Rome 3) (D.I. Marnie Rome) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top