Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Then Came the Evening. Brian Hart
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

PHENOMENAL DEBUT: This is the debut of a talented young writer in the vein of Richard Ford, Andre Dubus, and Cormac McCarthy. It will also appeal to admirers of the recent American Rust. TIMELESS FAMILY CONFLICT: Then Came the Evening is a strong story of dysfunctional family dynamics; the author is uncompromising in being true to the fates of his characters.

About the Author

Brian Hart was born in Idaho. He spent years working as a janitor, carpenter, welder, and commercial fisherman before earning his M.F.A. from the Michener Center for Writers at the University of Texas at Austin. He was the winner of the 2005 Keene Prize, the largest student prize for literature at the University of Texas. Then Came the Evening is his first novel.

Reviews

'Brian Hart's Then Came the Evening shows the hidden America, a world of remote holdings, long memories, fierce yearnings, and violent strivings. He dramatises this world with an immense care and tenderness. There is a deep feeling in the book for the gnarled landscape itself, its stark beauty, but even greater emotion surrounds the characters that inhabit it. Their efforts to live together and love each other are depicted with a grace and understanding which is rare and memorable' Colm Toibin 'An edgy and affecting debut from a writer already bursting with promise and achievement. Brian Hart's narrative voice is as tender as it is unflinching - and his novel of love squandered and oh-so-nearly retrieved is a triumph' Jim Crace 'A startling evocation of a wild place in which every man and woman struggle on in their own private Idaho' Daily Telegraph 'Told with a stark narrative voice that reflects the harsh unforgiving subject, the comparisons to Cormac McCarthy are already coming thick and fast' GQ

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Then Came the Evening. Brian Hart on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top