Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

There's A Hippo In My Cistern
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

The hilarious true-life tale of one man's journey from self-confessed planet-killing lad to eco-friendly, green-crusader Dad set against the backdrop of Cool Britannia, Blair's Britain and the rise of the green movement. Back in the nineties, Loaded journalist, Pete May was your normal twenty-something male: a football mad, beer guzzling, Dr Who watching lad's lad, quite happy surrounding himself with countless pizza boxes, beer cans and other environmentally unfriendly consumer items. Recycling to Pete was a debate about whether he should turn his socks inside out and reuse them. Then one day, out of nowhere, along came eco bunny Nicola -- a greener than green environmental activist. Could two people so different really fall for each other? Would Pete ever change his ways and sign up to the green lifestyle of composting loos, freezing cold houses, multiple jumper wearing, chicken rearing, recycling, cycling, energy saving and general self-sufficiency? This is the charming and funny true-life tale of one man's struggle to grapple with the good life, go green and get the girl. Key title / A charming and funny boysy adventure, this will appeal to fans of Tony Hawks, Danny Wallace, Tony Parsons and Andrew Collins. / Offers a unique personal take on the hot topic of global environmental issues. / Excellent publicity potential -- including national serialisation. Author will use contacts to ensure widespread publicity. / Cross promotion opportunities with Pete's wife, Nicola Baird, author of Save Cash, Save the Planet which has sold over 86,000 copies to date. / Advance quotes to come from Mark Lynas and George Monbiot, author of Heat.

About the Author

Pete May is a journalist who has written for Loaded, The Guardian, Time Out among others. He currently lives in North London with his wife Nicola Baird of Save Cash, Save The Planet.

Reviews

Time Out, 12th June "Funny and rather heart-warming."

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
People also searched for
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling There's A Hippo In My Cistern: One Man's Misadventures on the Eco-frontline on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top