Warehouse Stock Clearance Sale

Grab a bargain today!

Thief of Corinth
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Reviews

Set in first-century Corinth, this latest novel from Christy Award winner Afshar (Bread of Angels) is another beautifully written tale based on the New Testament. Ariadne, tired of living in her mother's house after her parents' divorce, flees to Corinth and her father's home. When she finds out that he makes his living as a thief, she begs to help him recoup the ill-gotten gains of the wealthy and corrupt. But their lives are endangered when the wrong person discovers their secret. Through rabbi Paul, they learn of a God who heals and forgives. Receiving grace and mercy for their sins and forgiveness is something they never thought could happen. VERDICT: Afshar's well-drawn characters and lushly detailed setting vividly bring to life the ancient world of the Bible. A solid choice for fans of Francine Rivers and Bodie and Brock Thoene.--Library Journal
PW Starred review. Afshar, Christy award-winner for her 2013 novel Harvest of Gold, once again brings historical detail to vibrant life, this time focusing on the city of Corinth--center of first-century CE commerce and culture--and the family of fictional Galenos. Galenos's daughter, Ariadne, has lived with her oppressive mother and grandfather in a villa near Athens ever since her parents' divorce as a child. Now 16, she flees to her father's home in Corinth, where she quickly discovers the family secret: her father is the famous Honorable Thief, who robs only the richest and most unscrupulous citizens. Ariadne faces challenges in her new life, among them the displeasure of the city's women who think she is ridiculous when she enters a prestigious race at the Isthmian Games, as well as the contentious relationship with her foster brother, Theo. Despite this, she is bent on helping her father, even if it means becoming a thief herself. But then, abruptly, Galenos and Ariadne's lives are transformed when Ariadne's brother, Dionysus, arrives from Athens with his friend, Paul of Tarsus. Paul's teachings bring healing to the family, and particularly to Ariadne, who must face her selfishness and pride. Afshar again shows her amazing talent for packing action and intrigue into the biblical setting for modern readers.--Publishers Weekly

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Thief of Corinth on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top