Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The Thousand Names
By

Rating
Hurry - Only 2 left in stock!

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A bold new direction for epic fantasy with muskets, demons and magic.

About the Author

Django Wexler was born in San Francisco and raised in Westchester, New York. While attending Carnegie Mellon University for computer science and creative writing, he published his first two novels, Memories of Empire and Shinigami, with small publisher Medallion Press. He currently works for Microsoft in Seattle, Washington.

Reviews

"The Coolest Fantasy Story You'll Read This Week" i09 "an excellent book" SFX "A spectacular epic" Fantasy Book Critic "Exceptional military fantasy" -- Jason M. Hough National Bestselling author of The Darwin Elevator "Wexler's polished military fantasy, first in the Shadow Campaign series, distinguishes itself from other epic doorstops with its unique setting, intricate plotting, and layered characters...This excellent series debut is for fans of Peter Brett, Daniel Abraham, and Joe Abercrombie." Booklist

Wexler's debut is a slow-building but generally capable addition to the military fantasy subgenre, nicely blending military strategy and political intrigue before layering on fantasy tropes. In a world at a Napoleonic Wars level of technology, soldiers on the outskirts of the imperialist Vordanai empire are suddenly in trouble when the rebels they arm turn on them. Quirky Count Colonel Janus bet Vhalnich Mieran is sent to fix the situation; to the surprise of Marcus D'Ivoire, a cynical captain, and Winter Ihernglass, a soldier looking to escape her past, he does reasonably well. Janus brings news of political intrigues at home, along with scholar Jennifer Alhundt, who has a mysterious agenda. The scenes of military life and combat tactics are well crafted, and Winter and Marcus's respective successes keep the story moving swiftly enough until the darker secret and elements of the fantastic make themselves known. Wexler's story and characters do stray into the realm of the predictable at times, but fans of military fantasy should still get their fill. Agent: Seth Fishman, Gernert Company. (July) (c) Copyright PWxyz, LLC. All rights reserved.

Assigned to a remote outpost of the Vordanai empire, Capt. Marcus d'Ivoire faces an uprising from the occupied locals. Among his ranks is Winter Ihernglass, who fled the juvenile "prison" orphanage where she grew up and now masquerades as a male soldier. When Col. Janus bet Vhalnich arrives to reinforce the Vordanai troops, he demonstrates both his military genius as well as a disturbing propensity to seek out the supernatural to advance his own power. VERDICT The author of Shinigami and Memories of Empire launches an epic fantasy of military might and magical conflict. Guns and swords blend with magic and other supernatural phenomena in this tale of complex people caught up in world-shaking circumstances. (c) Copyright 2013. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Thousand Names (The Shadow Campaigns) on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond Retail Limited.
Back to top