Now Australia's Biggest Toy Store

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

The True and Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

For readers of Perfume and Alias Grace, and inspired by a true story, this is the glorious, grubby and magnificent tale of the rise and fall of the seven long-haired Swiney sisters

Promotional Information

For readers of Perfume and Alias Grace, and inspired by a true story, this is the glorious, grubby and magnificent tale of the rise and fall of the seven long-haired Swiney sisters

About the Author

Michelle Lovric is the author of four novels -- Carnevale, The Floating Book (winner of a London Arts Award and chosen as a WH Smith Read of the Week), The Remedy (longlisted for the 2005 Orange Prize for Fiction) and The Book of Human Skin (a TV Book Club pick in 2011) as well as four children's books. Her book Love Letters: An Anthology of Passion was a New York Times bestseller. She divides her time between London and Venice. www.michellelovric.com

Reviews

Michelle Lovric is devilishly clever, fiendishly comic and generally just an irresistible novelist. I delighted in every page * Elizabeth Gilbert *
This is a story to sweep you up and spin you about like a mad Irish jig. It swirls you away amid giddy torrents of language into a fantastical, sensual, yet villainously comic world ... As the compulsive power of her narrative increasingly overcomes her plangent mazes of her description, the reader finally realizes that they are in the irresistible hands of a storyteller who portrays not just her period but human nature too * Rachel Campbell-Johnston, The Times *
Just love her humour and magical flamboyance * Sainsbury's Magazine *
Has a swagger and style that makes it an enjoyable read * Sunday Times *
Vividly descriptive, it's an extraordinary book that follows the sisters from bickering childhood hardship through their early singing and dancing stage appearances in dusty church halls to Dublin salons and Venice palazzi * Choice Magazine *
Lined with a penetrating, melancholic beauty * Western Daily Press *
Lined with a penetrating melancholic beauty ... The novel is engaging and affecting in a way that will with you long after the page is turned * Irish Examiner *
We loved... the descriptions; we felt we had visited the city after reading the vivid descriptions of Venice ... Most of us loved the fast-moving plot, the dark compelling twists and turns of the storyline, and the humour. Some of us even read it twice * Mslexia *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The True and Splendid History of the Harristown Sisters on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top