COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

Untold Night and Day
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

A seductive, disorienting story about multiple identities - unfolding over a day and a night in the sweltering heat of Seoul's summer - for readers of Han Kang's THE VEGETARIAN and Samanta Schweblin's FEVER DREAM

About the Author

Bae Suah (Author) Bae Suah was born in Seoul in 1965. She studied chemistry at university and wrote her first short story as a way of practising her typing. Since 1993 she has published more than a dozen novels and short story collections. Untold Night and Day is her first book to be published in the UK. Deborah Smith (Translator) Deborah Smith (@londonkoreanist) was born in Doncaster in 1987. She studied English and then Korean literature in the UK, and has translated several books by Bae Suah and Han Kang. She publishes Asian literatures in translation through Tilted Axis Press, which she founded in 2015.

Reviews

Hypnotic... an uncannily affecting and dreamlike story of parallel lives and worlds. -- Chloe Ashby * Guardian *
[A] highly original novel, full of unsolved mysteries, repeated motifs and startling prose... Remarkably fresh... Exhilarating... Once I finished it, much of it slipped into my unconscious. All that remains is a sense of Bae's boundless yet precise imagination. -- Luiza Sauma * Daily Telegraph *
A metaphysical detective story, Untold Night and Day...draws on ideas from Korean shamanism...to venture in style and ambition far from the conventions of mystery narratives... Storylines echo one another and are braided into multilayered fictional universe with extraordinary skill... Bae's novel complicates the boundaries between self and other reality and make-believe, night and day. -- Sarah Shin * Observer *
Bae Suah is one of Korea's most radical contemporary writers... Untold Night and Day is a hallucinatory novel propelled by the logic of dreams... Bae masterfully layers [her] themes into an almost hidden code beneath the novel's meditative surface. -- Jay G Ying * Guardian *
Bae Suah's disturbing, beautifully controlled novel Untold Night and Day is a book of doubles, shadows and parallel worlds... a slim yet labyrinthine twist on a "choose your own adventure" story that disarms even as it disorients. -- Catherine Taylor * Financial Times *
As cryptic and compelling as a fever dream, Untold Night and Day is a vivid and disorienting exploration of identity, artifice and compulsion ... Bae Suah is one of the most unique and adroit literary voices working today. * Sharlene Teo *
I loved this book. I loved its uncanny beauty, its startling occurrences. As it unravels you feel, if only a little, yourself unraveling too. A Lynchian triumph. * Daisy Johnson *
Haunting and poetic, Untold Night and Day holds the reader in a suspended state, allowing us to explore the tension of the threshold. A strange and beautiful novel, wonderfully translated by Deborah Smith. * Chloe Aridjis *
Unconventional and original... A Seoul fairytale where the unexpected should always be expected. -- Kerry Hudson * Big Issue *

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 8% commission by selling Untold Night and Day on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond World Ltd.
Back to top