Now Australia's Biggest Toy Shop

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Vanishing New York
By

Rating
Product Details

About the Author

Jeremiah Moss, creator of the award-winning blog Vanishing New York, is the pen name of Griffin Hansbury. His writing on the city has appeared in the New York Times, the New York Daily News, and online for The New Yorker and The Paris Review. As Hansbury, he is the author of The Nostalgist, a novel, and works as a psychoanalyst in private practice in New York City.

Reviews

"A vigorous, righteously indignant book that would do Jane Jacobs proud."--Kirkus Reviews "Wrathful howl."--Harper's Magazine "A full-throated lament for the city's bygone charms."--Wall Street Journal "A wrenching, exhaustive chronicle of the 'hypergentrification of New York' [. . .] Every page is charged with Moss's deep love of New York. It is both a vital and unequivocally depressing read."--The Village Voice "One of the most thorough and pugnacious chroniclers of New York's blandification."--The Atlantic "I haven't read a more impassioned book in over a decade. Vanishing New York is angry, incredulous, but also full of insight into a city of legend, where every legend happened to be true."--Gary Shteyngart "For those of us who've watched hopelessly as our beautiful city has turned into an assortment of Duane Reades and Starbucks, this book is a must-read. Jeremiah Moss bears witness on our behalf, and puts it all into brilliant perspective."--Andy Cohen, host and executive producer, "Watch What Happens Live With Andy Cohen" "A very good, angrily passionate, and ultimately saddening book [. . . ] brilliantly written and well-informed."--Booklist "Meticulously researched, thoroughly reported, at once a call to arms and a soul cry, Vanishing New York is a love letter to originality and the human spirit. Grab a knish and settle in."-- Charles Bock, New York Times bestselling author of Alice and Oliver "Jeremiah Moss came to the party that is New York City just in time to see it turn into a wake.His book is lucid, eloquent, phenomenally detailed, and terribly sad. Future generations, assuming there are any, will read it in wonder and disbelief."--Luc Sante "Essential reading for fans of Jane Jacobs, Joseph Mitchell, Patti Smith, Luc Sante, and cheap pierogi."--David Kamp, Vanity Fair

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vanishing New York: How a Great City Lost Its Soul on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top