SmartSellTM - The New Way to Sell Online

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Vegas Girls: A Novel
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

Heather Skyler, born and raised in Las Vegas, Nevada, is the author of The Perfect Age. She has written pieces for the New York Times, Newsweek, GOOD magazine, and other publications. She currently works as the editor for OC Family magazine and as a syndicated columnist for the OC Register. She lives in Long Beach, California.

Reviews

Praise for Vegas Girls "Set against the backdrop of Las Vegas, with its penetrating summer heat, mountains, and flashy casinos, this novel creates a heat all its own. Perfect for readers who love Liane Moriarty, Sarah Pekkanen, and Jennifer Weiner." --Booklist "With a candid writing style and crafted from five unique voices, this novel reminds us that the past always finds a way to stick with us, and lifelong friends are our true rocks... Readers will relate to the underlying themes and desire for closure." -RT Book Reviews "I am a sucker for stories about friendships, old loves, new loves, and how going back somehow helps us move forward. And in Vegas Girls Heather Skyler satisfies all my cravings while also writing like a dream. A dream of a novel!" --Ann Hood, bestselling author of The Knitting Circle and The Obituary Writer "Intimate, generous, and frank, Vegas Girls is wise to the doldrums of adulthood and humane about its failures. These characters may walk a perilous balancing act between hard knowledge and hope, but Heather Skyler aces it." --Michelle Wildgen, author of You're Not You and Bread and Butter "A rich, multilayered novel that beautifully explores the complicated edges of nostalgia, and all the mysterious, unexpected, and emotionally charged drama that comes when old friends reunite in the old neighborhood. Heather Skyler is a wonderfully insightful writer, and Vegas Girls is an illuminating and pleasurable read." --Dean Bakopoulos, author of Summerlong "When a group of friends, navigating their mid-thirties, reunites in their hometown, old shadows, new dreams, and unexpected complications arise. Set in the dazzling, all-consuming city of Las Vegas, Heather Skyler vividly captures the hidden edges of long friendship and the strange unspoken secrets we carry around in our hearts." --Alissa Nutting, author of Tampa "Vegas Girls is a now story, sometimes touching, other times troubling. Heather Skyler knows her locale and brings Vegas to life." --Fresh Fiction "Born and raised here, Skyler knows Las Vegas as only a native can... Skyler has created a fictional landscape that more accurately captures Las Vegas than many nonfiction narratives do... The story is smart, honest, and surprising. Skyler's prose, at times poetic, is layered, fluid, and smooth--a total pleasure to read." --Living Las Vegas Praise for The Perfect Age "Sultry, reflective ... perfectly captures the languid heat of long Las Vegas summers and the irresistible temptations of love at any age." --Publishers Weekly "[A] beautifully wrought coming-of-age story ... rich, smart, and nuanced ... brutally realistic and starkly honest." --Library Journal "Sensitively explores family dynamics, particularly the line between privacy and secrecy." --Kirkus Reviews "Skillful, sensitive ... traces the twin trajectories of a mother aching for change and her budding teenage daughter." --Elle "A compulsively readable story." --Wisconsin Trails magazine, Editors Pick "Effortlessly graceful ... astute." --Marisa Silver, New York Times bestselling author of Mary Coin "A gorgeous debut." --Ann Hood, New York Times bestselling author of The Obituary Writer and The Red Thread "A lovely, winning novel, full of moments of startling emotional truth." --Jessica Shattuck, author of The Hazards of Good Breeding "A sultry tale of sexual awakening ... absorbing, evocative and observant." --Guardian (UK) "Atmospheric ... Skyler's descriptive powers create a place that is at the same time thoroughly sexual, oppressively hot and occasionally downright grubby." --Independent (UK) "A compelling read." --YM "An author to watch." --Spring Grove Herald (Minnesota) "Skyler has her finger firmly on the pulse of this family, sensitive to the unnerving upheavals they experience over three summers that spell an end to innocence, the beginning of a more imperfect, if more livable peace." --CurledUp.com

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Vegas Girls: A Novel on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top