COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

The Violent Century
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

Promotional Information

They'd never meant to be heroes.

About the Author

Lavie Tidhar is the World Fantasy Award winning author of Osama, of The Bookman Histories trilogy and many other works. He also won the British Fantasy Award for Best Novella, for Gorel & The Pot-Bellied God, and was nominated variously for BSFA, Campbell, Sturgeon, Kitschies and Sidewise awards. He grew up on a kibbutz in Israel and in South Africa and currently resides in London.Lavie can be found online at http://lavietidhar.wordpress.com or on twitter @lavietidhar.

Reviews

An emerging master." - LocusYoung, ambitious, skilled and original. - Christopher Priest, author of The Prestige.He is a political writer, an iconoclast and sometimes a provocateur ... Osama is a remarkable and ambitious work. - China Mieville on Osama.Where do heroes come from? How are friendships made? What makes us human? These are the questions that Lavie Tidhar grapples with, in this story of friendship writ large upon a canvas that stretches from the 1930s to the present day, in a slightly alternate world where superheroes exists, but heroics mean different things to different people. Choices made in the second world war resonate down through a series of brilliantly detailed cold war scenes, ultimately wrestling with the idea of the self. This is a big, ambitious book that manages to deliver. - http://glen.mehn.net/2013/08/100-word-review-the-violent-century-by-lavie-tidhar/?utm_source=rss&utm_medium=rss&utm_campaign=100-word-review-tvintage Lavie, and also I think his most fully accomplished novel yet. Nobody rides that fast-rolling wave separating schlocky pulp and serious literary sensibilities so deftly as Tidhar. He manages to make serious points about the benighted twentieth-century and its obsession with 'supermen' without ever letting the narrative slacken or the adventure pale. If Nietzche had written an X-Men storyline whilst high on mescaline, i

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Violent Century: The epic alternative history novel from World Fantasy Award-winning author of OSAMA - perfect for fans of Stan Lee on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top