COVID-19 Response at Fishpond.com.au

Read what we're doing...

The Viral Storm
By

Rating

Product Description
Product Details

About the Author

NATHAN WOLFE is the Lorry I. Lokey Visiting Professor in Human Biology at Stanford University and the founder and CEO of Global Viral Forecasting, an independent research institute devoted to early detection and control of epidemics. He holds degrees from Stanford and Harvard and has been published in or profiled by Nature, Science, The New York Times, The New Yorker, The Economist, Wired, Discover, Scientific American, NPR, Popular Science, Seed, and Forbes. In 2011 he was named one of Time magazine's 100 Most Influential People in the World. He lives in San Francisco.

Reviews

"[A] quietly terrifying book. . . . It's hard not to feel a bit feverish at times while reading." --The Boston Globe "One of the world's foremost virus hunters." --Financial Times "Wolfe makes a convincing case for the [viral pandemic] threat. . . . Sometimes the scariest thrillers are those that could play out in real life." --Science News "An excellent piece of scientific gothic, rich in descriptions of the threat we face from emerging viruses and how we might prevent them from becoming pandemic. . . . This enjoyable, well researched and thought-provoking book shows that [Wolfe] has a clear vision of how pandemics occur in human populations." --Nature "[An] engrossing and fast-paced chronicle of medical exploration and discovery." --Publishers Weekly "Startling in its revelations of just how vulnerable we are to infectious outbreaks." --Book Page "Wolfe's message is both compelling and timely... Wolfe graphically illustrates how viruses can hitchhike their way from benign passenger to poison, from lone gunman to mass murderer. Luckily he and his international microbiologist cohorts are hot onto ways not only to track viral outbreaks and head them off but also convert them into human helpers--vaccines." --Booklist "Highly recommend for all readers. This important book should be read by anyone wanting to stay informed on how global medical issues affect us all." --Library Journal "From a well-traveled virologist, an eloquent argument for why we need better ways to predict and thus prevent major disease outbreaks... Wolfe's wide experience confronting killer diseases in Africa and Asia makes for important, graphic reading and underscores his passion for prevention." --Kirkus Reviews "By turns terrifying and comforting, The Viral Storm is a clear, riveting account of the threat of undiscovered viruses. They lurk in the blood of primates killed for bush meat, poised to hitchhike on global travelers, reaching major cities and blood supplies before there's even time to name them. Nathan Wolfe is saving the world from near-inevitable pandemic. That he had time to write a kick-ass book on top of all that makes me want to smack him." --Mary Roach, author of Stiff and Packing for Mars "Nathan Wolfe is a charismatic rising star of the medical world." --Jared Diamond, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Guns, Germs, and Steel and Collapse "This is an astonishingly lucid book on an important topic. Deeply researched, yet effortlessly recounted, Wolfe's mix of biology, history, medicine, and first-hand experience is potent and irresistible. This is a book that you cannot put down. In the tradition of Laurie Garrett's The Coming Plague, Wolfe's work will change the way we imagine and patrol human epidemics." --Siddhartha Mukherjee, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of The Emperor of All Maladies "Nathan Wolfe brilliantly explores the threat of pandemics, how they occur and why we should care. This book offers a warning--but also hope--to us all. The next pandemic is coming. How we deal with it is up to us. This is must reading for anyone who cares about their health, the health of their families and civilization as we know it." --Jeff Skoll, first President of eBay, Founder and Chairman of Participant Media, and Founder and Chairman, Skoll Global Threats Fund

Ask a Question About this Product More...
Write your question below:
Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Viral Storm: The Dawn of a New Pandemic Age on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Item ships from and is sold by Fishpond.com, Inc.
Back to top