Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

We won't be beaten by anyone. Guaranteed

Contrary to popular wisdom, death isn't the end, nor a passage to some transcendent afterlife. Those who die merely awake as themselves on one of million worlds, where they live until they die again, and wake up somewhere new. All are born only once - but die many times - until they come to the City Unspoken, where True Death can be found. The City is home to murderous aristocrats, disguised gods and goddesses, a sadistic faerie princess, immortal prostitutes and queens, a captive angel, gangs of feral Death Boys and Charnel Girls...and one confused New Yorker. Late of Manhattan, Cooper finds himself in a City that is not what it once was. The gateway to True Death is failing, so the City is overrun by the Dying...and a spreading madness threatens to engulf the entire metaverse.
Product Details

Promotional Information

A stunning debut fantasy in the tradition of China Mieville and Jeff VanderMeer.

About the Author

DAVID EDISON divides his time between New York City and San Francisco. The Waking Engine is his first novel.

Reviews

"Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, "The Waking Engine" is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out." --Adam Christopher, author of "Empire State" and "The Burning Dark" on "The Waking Engine""A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining."--Alex Bledsoe, author of "The Hum and the Shiver" on "The Waking Engine""David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume."--Delia Sherman, author of "The Freedom Maze" on "The Waking Engine" A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining.--Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver "This debut fantasy is a fever dream of vivid imagery and dark luscious prose, reminiscent of China Mieville in its byzantine, steampunk-influenced cityscape." --Library Journal, starred review"Edison breaks some new ground here, and even when he's in familiar territory, he finds his own way of exploring it. An impressive debut." --Booklist"Intensely descriptive and detailed, The Waking Engine will spur readers' imaginations." --RT Bookreviews"Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, The Waking Engine is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out." --Adam Christopher, author of Empire State and The Burning Dark"A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining." --Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver"David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume." --Delia Sherman, author of The Freedom Maze This debut fantasy is a fever dream of vivid imagery and dark luscious prose, reminiscent of China Mieville in its byzantine, steampunk-influenced cityscape. Library Journal, starred review Edison breaks some new ground here, and even when he's in familiar territory, he finds his own way of exploring it. An impressive debut. Booklist Intensely descriptive and detailed, The Waking Engine will spur readers' imaginations. RT Bookreviews Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, The Waking Engine is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out. Adam Christopher, author of Empire State and The Burning Dark A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining. Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume. Delia Sherman, author of The Freedom Maze" This debut fantasy is a fever dream of vivid imagery and dark luscious prose, reminiscent of China Mieville in its byzantine, steampunk-influenced cityscape. "Library Journal, starred review" Edison breaks some new ground here, and even when he's in familiar territory, he finds his own way of exploring it. An impressive debut. "Booklist" Intensely descriptive and detailed, "The Waking Engine" will spur readers' imaginations. "RT Bookreviews" Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, "The Waking Engine" is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out. "Adam Christopher, author of Empire State and The Burning Dark" A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining. Alex Bledsoe, author of The Hum and the Shiver David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume. "Delia Sherman, author of The Freedom Maze"" "This debut fantasy is a fever dream of vivid imagery and dark luscious prose, reminiscent of China Mieville in its byzantine, steampunk-influenced cityscape." --"Library Journal," starred review "Edison breaks some new ground here, and even when he's in familiar territory, he finds his own way of exploring it. An impressive debut." --"Booklist" "Intensely descriptive and detailed, "The Waking Engine" will spur readers' imaginations." --"RT Bookreviews" "Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, "The Waking Engine" is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out." --Adam Christopher, author of "Empire State" and "The Burning Dark""""A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining."--Alex Bledsoe, author of "The Hum and the Shiver""""David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume."--Delia Sherman, author of "The Freedom Maze" "Edison breaks some new ground here, and even when he's in familiar territory, he finds his own way of exploring it. An impressive debut." --"Booklist" on "The Waking Engine""Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, "The Waking Engine" is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out." --Adam Christopher, author of "Empire State" and "The Burning Dark" on "The Waking Engine""A novel of gigantic--nay, cosmic--ideas, brought down to earth by witty characters and a delightfully clueless everyman protagonist. Universal apocalypses don't come any bigger, or more entertaining."--Alex Bledsoe, author of "The Hum and the Shiver" on "The Waking Engine""David Edison makes his debut with a novel of great creativity and richness. There's nothing small about this story, from its remarkable premise to its cast of splendidly mad characters and its complex, beautifully realized world. I can't wait for the next volume."--Delia Sherman, author of "The Freedom Maze" on "The Waking Engine" "Highly original, beautifully weird, deeply immersive, "The Waking Engine" is a storming debut and a fantasy guaranteed to trip you out." --Adam Christopher, author of "Empire State" and "The Burning Dark"

Look for similar items by category
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling The Waking Engine on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top