Absolutely Australia's Lowest Prices

Shop over 1.5 Million Toys in our Huge New Range

Walking in Berlin
By

Rating
Franz Hessel was an observer par excellence of the increasingly hectic metropolis that was Berlin in the late 1920s. In Walking in Berlin, originally published in Germany in 1929, he captures the rhythm of Weimar-era Berlin, recording evidence of the seismic shifts shaking German culture at the time. Nearly all of the pieces take the form of a walk or outing, focusing either on a theme or part of the city, and many end at a theatre, cinema, or club. Hessel effortlessly weaves historical information into his observations, displaying his extensive knowledge of the city. Today, many years after the Nazi era and the postwar reconstruction that followed, the areas he visited are all still prominent and interesting. From the Alexanderplatz to Kreuzberg, his record of them has become priceless. Superbly written, and as fresh today as when it first appeared, this is a book to be savoured.
Product Details

Promotional Information

Selling points* A beautiful small hardback ideal for tillpoints and gifting. * A book for readers of Walter Benjamin, Christopher Isherwood, and Stefan Zweig, and, in our time, Rebecca Solnit, Geoff Dyer and Iain Sinclair. * Available in English for the first time, this will do well in general bookstores, galleries, and stores with a political focus (A small-format limited edition of a couple of the essays in this book sold rapidly in Berlin, London, and New York).

About the Author

Franz Hessel was born in 1880 to a Jewish banking family, and grew up in Berlin. After studying in Munich, he lived in Paris, moving in artistic circles in both cities. His relationship with the fashion journalist Helen Grund was the inspiration for Henri-Pierre Roche's novel and, later, Francois Truffaut's film Jules et Jim. Their son StUphane went on to become a diplomat and author of the worldwide bestselling Indignez-Vous! (Time for Outrage!). He also co-translated Proust with Walter Benjamin, as well as works by Casanova, Stendhal, and Balzac. Franz Hessel died in early 1941, shortly after his release from an internment camp.

Reviews

'Hessel is a modest master of spontaneous observation.' - Sabine Vogel, Berliner Zeitung;'a newly rediscovered treasure.' - Die Welt;'To this day, there is no better Berlin travel guide.' - Peter von Becker, Tagesspiegel;'... an absolutely epic book, a walking remembrance.' - Walter Benjamin;'When you think of Berlin in the 1920s, you cannot avoid thinking of the storyteller, critic and translator Franz Hessel.'- Manfred Papst recommends Spazieren in Berlin in the Neue Zuricher Zeitung (NZZ)

Look for similar items by category
Home » Books » History » General
Home » Books » Travel » Pictorials
How Fishpond Works
Fishpond works with suppliers all over the world to bring you a huge selection of products, really great prices, and delivery included on over 25 million products that we sell. We do our best every day to make Fishpond an awesome place for customers to shop and get what they want — all at the best prices online.
Webmasters, Bloggers & Website Owners
You can earn a 5% commission by selling Walking in Berlin: a flaneur in the capital on your website. It's easy to get started - we will give you example code. After you're set-up, your website can earn you money while you work, play or even sleep! You should start right now!
Authors / Publishers
Are you the Author or Publisher of a book? Or the manufacturer of one of the millions of products that we sell. You can improve sales and grow your revenue by submitting additional information on this title. The better the information we have about a product, the more we will sell!
Back to top